Store Awards


McLean & Eakin, Booksellers receives highest honor in 2000

The Pannell Award was created in 1983 to honor Lucile Micheels Pannell, an esteemed bookseller who managed the Hobby Horse Bookshop in Chicago’s Carson Pirie Scott department store from 1943 to 1953. The Award recognizes two North American retail booksellers who excel at creatively bringing books and children together and inspiring children's interest in books and reading.

The Award is presented each year at the national BookExpo America conference. Two winners are selected; one from the general bookstore category and one from children’s bookstores. We are delighted to say that we won for the general bookstore category! Each winner receives a monetary award and a framed piece of original art created by a children's book illustrator. McLean & Eakin is proud to have received, and currently displays, an exquisite pencil drawing from David Weitzman’s Thrashin’ Time.

For independent bookstores with a children's section, it doesn’t get any better than this. Yahoo!



McLean & Eakin is the recipient of the Charles Haslam Award for Excellence in Bookselling, one of two national awards presented to independent booksellers in the United States.

Here's what the Haslam website says:

The award is given annually to a bookseller who exemplifies the highest standards of excellence in the profession. The prize is given in memory of Charles S. Haslam (1912-1983), a great bookman whose name will be associated for generations to come with all that is finest in bookselling. The award will be presented according to performance in ALL of the following areas:
• Demonstrated excellence in buying and merchandising
• Demonstrated excellence in store operations
• Demonstrated excellence in advertising and promotion
• Demonstrated excellence in community service

M&E owner, Julie Norcross, accepted the award at the ABA conference in Chicago.



McLean & Eakin was nominated for the Bookseller of the Year award sponsored by Publishers Weekly for the second time in three years. The award is given annually to an independent bookseller, after a presentation packet is developed and sent to a panel of judges for review. The award is presented at the ABA National Conference. We've yet to win the award, but we consider it a great honor just to be nominated.


Signed Editions

Zircon - This is a contributing Drupal Theme
Design by WeebPal.