Jo Watson Hackl

We are thrilled to announce that Jo Watson Hackl will be joining us on Wednesday, September 26th at 5pm for an event at the store for her book, Smack Dab in the Middle of Maybe. This is a free event though reservations are requested. To RSVP please call us at 231.347.1180 or email us at events@mcleanandeakin.com. 

A Mississippi ghost town and an art mystery combine in this gorgeously written debut just right for fans of Three Times Lucky and A Snicker of Magic!

How far would you go to find something that might not even exist?

All her life, Cricket's mama has told her stories about a secret room painted by a mysterious artist. Now Mama's run off, and Cricket thinks the room might be the answer to getting her to come back. If it exists. And if she can find it.

Cricket's only clue is a coin from a grown-over ghost town in the woods. So with her daddy's old guidebook and a coat full of snacks stolen from the Cash 'n' Carry, Cricket runs away to find the room. Surviving in the woods isn't easy. While Cricket camps out in an old tree house and looks for clues, she meets the last resident of the ghost town, encounters a poetry-loving dog (who just might hold a key to part of the puzzle), and discovers that sometimes you have to get a little lost . . . to really find your way.

Jo Watson Hackl was born in Biloxi, Mississippi, not far from Ocean Springs, where her favorite artist, Walter Anderson, lived and once painted a secret room. When Jo was eleven, she moved to a real-life ghost town, Electric Mills, Mississippi, and spent the rest of her childhood exploring the woods and encountering signs of the former inhabitants. Mr. Anderson's secret room and the ghost town were Jo's inspiration for this debut novel. Jo lives with her family in Greenville, South Carolina, where she raises fruits, vegetables, and many, many weeds. You can find her online at JoHackl.com.

Event date: 

Wednesday, September 26, 2018 - 5:00pm

Event address: 

Smack Dab in the Middle of Maybe Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780399557385
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - July 10th, 2018

Eleven days. Thirteen clues. And one kid who won't give up. Smack Dab in the Middle of Maybe is "part treasure hunt, part wilderness adventure, and all heart."--Alan Gratz, New York Times Bestselling author of Refugee

How far would you go to find something that might not even exist?


 

Signed Editions

 
 
Zircon - This is a contributing Drupal Theme
Design by WeebPal.