Gogmagog: The First Chronicle of Ludwich (Paperback)

Gogmagog: The First Chronicle of Ludwich By Jeff Noon, Steve Beard Cover Image

Gogmagog: The First Chronicle of Ludwich (Paperback)

$18.99


Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
From the highly celebrated and award-winning authors Jeff Noon and Steve Beard comes Gogmagog, the first book in adventurous duology, perfect for fans of Mervyn Peake.

Gogmagog tells the story of an epic journey through the sixty-mile long ghost of a dragon. We travel by boat, a rickety steam launch captained by Cady Meade, a veteran taxi pilot on the river Nysis. In her heyday she carried people and goods from the thriving seaports of the estuary into Ludwich, the capital city. But that was years ago. Now she’s drunk, holed up in a rundown seaside resort, telling her bawdy tales for shots of rum. All that’s about to change, when two strangers seek her out, asking for transport, one of whom – a young girl – is very ill, and in great danger. The other, an artificial being of singular character, has secrets hidden inside his crystal skull. And so begins the voyage of the Juniper. 

The Nysis is unlike any other river. Mysteries unfold with each port of call. Not many can navigate these channels, not many know of its whirlpools and sandbanks, and of the ravenous creatures that lurk beneath the surface. Cady used to have the necessary knowledge, and the powers of spectral navigation. But her glory days are well behind her now.

This might well be her final journey.

File Under: Fantasy [ Peake Fantasy | Secret Mythologies | Take Me to the River | Another London ]
JEFF NOON is an award-winning British novelist, short story writer and playwright. He won the Arthur C Clarke Award for Vurt, the John W Campbell award for Best New Writer, a Tinniswood Award for innovation in radio drama and the Mobil prize for playwriting. He was trained in the visual arts, and was musically active on the punk scene before starting to write plays for the theatre. His previous book, The Body Library, was nominated for the Philip K Dick Award. 

STEVE BEARD is a writer who experiments with making essays and fictions from theory, history, testimony and psychogeography. He has written two novels and contributed to the anthology London: City of Disappearances, edited by Iain Sinclair.

Product Details ISBN: 9781915202826
ISBN-10: 1915202825
Publisher: Angry Robot
Publication Date: February 13th, 2024
Pages: 360
Language: English
"Marvellous stuff: a great flowing river of a novel, endlessly inventive, gorgeously written, pungent and haunting and gripping. This is the kind of world that, in all its strangeness, feels very real: you inhabit it rather than read about it. The dragon Faynr: chef's kiss! Can't wait for the next volume."
– Adam Roberts, BSFA award-winning author of Jack Glass

"Beard and Noon have created a fascinating place where bits of technology, like a crystal-powered radio, exist alongside supernatural elements. Fans of Scott Lynch’s Gentleman Bastard books will love the skullduggery and potential treachery of this world as well as Cady’s bravado."
– Booklist