Every Season Is Soup Season: 85+ Souper-Adaptable Recipes to Batch, Share, Reinvent, and Enjoy (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
Every Season Is Soup Season: 85+ Souper-Adaptable Recipes to Batch, Share, Reinvent, and Enjoy By Shelly Westerhausen Worcel, Wyatt Worcel (With) Cover Image

Every Season Is Soup Season: 85+ Souper-Adaptable Recipes to Batch, Share, Reinvent, and Enjoy (Hardcover)

$32.50


On Our Shelves Now
McLean & Eakin
6 on hand, as of Feb 22 9:25pm
(COOKING SOUP/CROCK POT)

Staff Reviews


Over the years, I have found that certain (non-food) publications have great “food-cred” – as in, their published recipes are consistently credible - achievable for home cooks, contain readily-available ingredients, and are delicious. My recipe box has many of our family faves torn (or now downloaded) from Midwest Living magazine. Their restaurant features in the travel section are also reliable. Who wants to spend time and money during a one-meal stop in an underachieving tourist-trap café? And now, because Midwest Living featured SOUP SEASON last month, I’ve found that their cookbook recommendations dig even deeper than what’s trending with well-known chefs. (Don’t get me wrong, I’m still going to buy Erin French’s new one!)
I thought the title of this book was just SOUP SEASON – how appropriate in the throes of Autumn 2023, when the snowflakes started flying? Now that I’ve devoured this book (pun intended), I know why it’s called Every Season is Soup Season. The Table of Contents is laid out by the four seasons with cold, hot, and room-temp recipes than specifically lean on the ingredients that are seasonally available. Then there’s a chapter entitled Enhancers with things like frizzled shallots, and smoked gouda grilled cheese croutons – yum!; and another for Accompaniments like quick yogurt flatbread, brown butter pumpkin cornbread, and peach poblano slaw. Each recipe is vegetarian, but many do have meat suggestions. And THEN, there are instructions to convert the leftovers into a different meal the next day (or next week/month if you freeze the leftovers). So cool, right? 
Many of my cookbooks read like novels, and I love them almost equally. But
SOUP SEASON will be an actively working part of my collection. Where do you get your new-recipe-inspiration? I’d love to know. (Reply back and we'll compile your answers in a future email!) 

— From Karen McCue

From the author of the bestselling Platters and Boards comes this versatile collection of 85+ go-to recipes for soups, soup fixings, and more. Plus 100 beautiful photos that will make you instantly crave a luscious bowl of soup!

Every day is a good day for soup! From broths and gazpachos to chowders and chilis, this flexible cookbook is overflowing with scrumptious soups for every season. These simple base recipes for healthy, yummy soups are easy to prepare and so satisfying. And the best part? You can riff on them endlessly with toppings and fixings—add mini meatballs, grilled cheese croutons, or a handful of grains. Or transform yesterday’s soup into an entirely new dish: Carrot-Orange-Ginger Soup becomes a savory breakfast oatmeal; leftover Tomato-Watermelon Gazpacho makes a pitcher of Bloody Marias; French Onion Soup is reinvented as a bubbling, golden strata!

Soup lovers, healthy eaters, and busy parents and professionals will love these veggie-forward recipes that never get old and make weeknight cooking a breeze. Tips for batching and freezing soups and instructions for using an Instant Pot or a slow cooker ensure stress-free meals, with less time in the kitchen and more time at the table. With gorgeous photography and a bonus section on soup accompaniments (think breads, salads, and slaws), Every Season IsSoup Season is a one-stop-shop cookbook. Everyday soups have never been so simple—or so incredibly delicious.

MORE TASTY RECIPES FROM BELOVED AUTHOR: Shelly Westerhausen Worcel, author of the bestselling book Platters and Boards and companion volume Tables and Spreads, delivers another dynamite, trend-forward package full of stunning photography and accessible recipes. Her soups are downright delicious, and her ideas for reinventing them couldn't be more creative. Feast your eyes on the gorgeous photography, then fill your belly with a bowlful of tasty soup!
 
GREAT VALUE: With easy base recipes and tons of ideas for customizing a bowl of soup, dressing up leftovers, and repurposing them into an altogether new dish, this book is an arsenal of soup know-how and offers great value for the price. More than 85 recipes + 100 photos = tons of excellent content!

ACCESSIBLE, VEG-FORWARD RECIPES: More and more people are looking for ways to eat healthier and sneak more plants into their diet. This book offers a trove of vegetable-forward and plant-based recipes that work for all diets and are easy to adapt for omnivores. Instructions for using the Instant Pot, slow cooker, and stovetop make these recipes approachable for cooks of all levels.

REAL-LIFE COOKING: Soup and one pot meals are the best—they're simple and inexpensive to make yet filling and comforting to eat. They also make great leftovers. This book is the perfect self-buy or gift for the cook in your life. It's certain to end up soup-stained with dogeared pages from years of love and use.

Perfect for:
  • Soup-lovers and followers of #Souptember
  • Home cooks of all levels
  • Busy professionals who enjoy leftovers for lunch
  • Busy parents who need easy-to-customize meals
  • Fans of Platters and Boards, Tables and Spreads, and such bestselling cookbooks as The Soup Book, Ina Garten's Modern Comfort Food, or Jamie Oliver's One
  • Gift-givers looking for a lovely holiday or housewarming present or anytime gift for foodies
Shelly Westerhausen Worcel is the author of Vegetarian Heartland, the bestselling Platters and Boards, and Tables and Spreads, and the blogger behind Vegetarian Ventures (www.vegetarianventures.com), where she documents her cooking and outdoor adventures. Her recipes have been featured in Bon Appetit, Food & Wine, Midwest Living, The Kitchn, Food52, O Magazine, and many others. She has partnered with brands including Crate & Barrel, Anthropologie, Williams Sonoma, Urban Outfitters, and more. She lives with her husband in Bloomington, Indiana.
 

Product Details ISBN: 9781797220307
ISBN-10: 1797220306
Publisher: Chronicle Books
Publication Date: September 19th, 2023
Pages: 256
Language: English
"This charming, niche volume about gardening with the moon in mind is fascinating and enchanting." — Library Journal