Wish You Weren't Here: A Novel (Hardcover)

Wish You Weren't Here: A Novel By Christy Schillig Cover Image

Wish You Weren't Here: A Novel (Hardcover)

$29.99


Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
In this transportive debut, a woman spending a summer in Italy finds her world completely upended–but it may be the kick she’s needed to figure out who she truly wants to be, perfect for fans of Rebecca Serle and Tessa Bailey.

Ava Graham's ducks are in a row as she heads off to Italy to complete her final law school credits and fulfill a promise she made to her late mother five years ago. Ava expects her long-term boyfriend to propose before her trip, but instead of giving her a ring, he suggests they use her time abroad as a “break” before settling down. 

When James Massini arrives–late–to the airport to pick up Ava as a favor to his aunt and uncle, he’s surprised to find that she’s not a young co-ed, but a fascinating woman approaching thirty with a serious superiority complex and a habit of underestimating him. When she’s assigned to his class as a TA, he becomes determined to prove to her that there is more to life than plans and lists, no matter how hard she fights with him–or how annoyingly charming he finds their banter. 

Despite the sudden disaster of her life, type A Ava might actually enjoy Italy—if only annoyingly carefree James wasn’t there, too. As Ava reluctantly lets James try to show her a different way of life in Italy, she begins to find beauty in the chaos. Of course, it’s when things begin to make sense again that her past comes storming back.

With a humorously relatable protagonist and a rich Italian setting, this debut novel is an escapist treat and a necessary reminder that life doesn’t always care about the plans we’ve made for ourselves.
Christy Schillig is a middle school teacher who lives in a log cabin in suburban South Jersey with her two children, her husband/best-friend since 6th grade, and her dogs, Puppay and Sheep. Christy graduated from Villanova University with a degree in Italian Literature and Language (yes, that’s a real degree) and uses that degree to commentate classroom science games in Italian and plan off the grid trips to the Italian Rivieras. On any given day, you can find her reading young adult paranormal romance beneath her desk at school.
Product Details ISBN: 9781639107070
ISBN-10: 163910707X
Publisher: Alcove Press
Publication Date: May 21st, 2024
Pages: 352
Language: English
Praise for Wish You Weren’t Here:
“Schillig whisks readers to the beautiful Italian city of Urbino in her effervescent enemies-to-lovers debut.”
Publishers Weekly

“What do you get when you mix Italy, a tantalizing American/Italian dude, a heroine who’s been dumped right before her Italian vacation, some hot, hot nights, and some beautiful architecture? The perfect combination for a rom-com that you won’t want to put down!”
—Catherine McKenzie, USA Today bestselling author of Spin and Arranged

“Schillig’s vivid description of Urbino made me want to book tickets to Italy immediately. A well woven friends-to-lovers romance steeped in Italian culture and art. Brillante!”
—Gillian Harvey, internationally bestselling author of The French Chateau Escape

Wish You Weren’t Here is transportive and gorgeous, perfectly blending escapism with real and complex characters that were easy to root for. James and Ava’s romance journey is brimming with wit, yearning, and made my heart soar.”
—Tarah DeWitt, author of Funny Feelings, The Co-op, and Rootbound

Wish You Weren't Here is a soulful yet sexy love letter to the beautiful city of Urbino and the art it inspires. The love story of Ava and James is much like an Aperol Spritz on a warm summer day—refreshing, zesty and bittersweet, all at the same time. You won’t want to miss this one!”
—Liz Fenton & Lisa Steinke, authors of Forever Hold Your Peace