The Mis-Arrangement of Sana Saeed: A Novel (Paperback)

The Mis-Arrangement of Sana Saeed: A Novel By Noreen Mughees Cover Image

The Mis-Arrangement of Sana Saeed: A Novel (Paperback)

$19.99


Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Perfect for fans of Sonali Dev and Uzma Jalaluddin, Noreen Mughees’s immersive debut novel reunites star-crossed childhood sweethearts against all odds, only for their second chance to clash with their parents’ strict beliefs.

Thirty-three-year-old hijabi Sana Saeed has put away her childhood dream of ishq—an all-consuming, sweeping love. The arranged dates she’s agreed to have failed time after time, and she has responsibilities to consider—namely her sweet, autistic younger brother, Zia. Sana and Zia are a package deal, and she wouldn’t have it any other way. But their traditional mother won’t allow Sana to be named as his future guardian . . . unless she’s married.

When Daniel Malik walks into Sana’s office at the Department of Environmental Conservation, she’s astonished—their childhood friendship has been a cherished memory ever since a feud between their families put an end to it eighteen years ago. But there’s no chance of them becoming close again; Daniel may be as hot as a Bollywood heartthrob, but not only is he Sana’s new boss, her mother would disown her if she ever brought him home.

With the clock ticking, Sana agrees to a marriage arranged by her family. She’s seen plenty of arranged marriages grow into love; maybe that will happen for her too. But when a high-stakes case at work forces Sana and Daniel to team up, they find themselves less able—and willing—to play their parts of “good desi children.”

Now Sana must make a choice: family and security, or the one man who claimed her heart long ago.
Noreen Mughees is a South Asian Muslim writer who lives in New Jersey. She works as a public servant and when she's not chasing a new plot, she loves to cook for her family and friends.

Product Details ISBN: 9781639105113
ISBN-10: 1639105115
Publisher: Alcove Press
Publication Date: October 10th, 2023
Pages: 320
Language: English
Praise for The Mis-Arrangement of Sana Saeed:
“A refreshing and hilarious rom-com . . . Uzma Jalaluddin fans will want to check this out.”
Publishers Weekly

“Mughees deftly depicts Muslim culture . . . A captivating romance.”
Library Journal

“[A] humorous, charming contemporary novel . . . Fans of Jane Austen will appreciate the familiar plot filled with new customs.”
Audiofile Magazine, audiobook review

The Mis-Arrangement of Sana Saeed is a perfectly sweet read for Jane Austen fans who love an immersive, heartwarming retelling! Noreen Mughees has a fresh and modern voice, and her take on the star-crossed childhood sweethearts turned grown-up, complicated love triangle is delightful. You'll be Team Daniel from the moment he appears on the page.”
—Zoe York, New York Times bestselling author 

“A beautiful heartwarming story of second chances, friendship and family bonds with all the angst and drama of the best Bollywood film. Noreen Mughees' charming debut romance is an unputdownable treat!”
—Sara Desai, author of The Singles Table

“A charming and heartwarming romance about a woman who learns to strive for what she knows is right for her. With lots of Bollywood-style drama, a meddling but well-meaning family, and an amazing support system of friends, this childhood-friends to lovers slow burn romance will have you rooting for Sana and Daniel to find their way back to each other from the moment you meet them on the page.”
—Farah Heron, author of Jana Goes Wild and Accidentally Engaged

“A love triangle with family drama that will have your heart aching for the characters. This second chance is an exquisite take on second chances, and balancing the responsibilities of family and tradition, with the desires of the heart.”
—Kelly Ohlert, author of To Get to the Other Side and Let’s Get Quizzical