The House by the Cemetery (The Grave Diggers) (Paperback)

Pre-Order Now Badge
The House by the Cemetery (The Grave Diggers) By Lisa Childs Cover Image

The House by the Cemetery (The Grave Diggers) (Paperback)

$17.95


Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Six Feet Under meets Succession with a gothic twist after the suspicious death of a midwestern funeral home empire’s wealthy patriarch in New York Times bestselling author Lisa Childs’ dark, twisty, horror-tinged new series for readers of Megan Collins, Samantha Downing, Stacy Willingham, and Rachel Hawkins.

In Gold Creek, Michigan, legend has that the ghost of a local grave digger still walks the cemetery, swinging his shovel, looking for his next victim to bury. But when the town’s wealthy undertaker dies, his estranged daughter must contend with the ghosts that haunt her own family . . .

After she left home at seventeen, River Gold swore she would never return to Gold Creek. Growing up at the Gold Funeral Home and Memorial Gardens was a nightmare. Classmates constantly teased her for being part of the “Ghoul” family, while her own family denied that she was actually a Gold. Her father, undertaker Gregory Gold, certainly never acted like a father. He was far more interested in profiting off other people’s tragedies. But now Gregory has died. And River has surrendered to her mother, Fiona’s, pleas that she come back for his funeral.

But the mourning period is cut short when it’s revealed that Gregory died of poisoning—and Fiona is arrested for his murder. Clearly, Fiona, his third wife and the funeral home’s cosmetologist, is being framed. There are plenty of more likely suspects, and River is determined to prove her mother’s innocence. That she’ll have to work with the sheriff—her high school enemy—is a small price to pay.

With a fortune at stake, River is sure the killer lies among Gregory’s first two wives, their children, and grandchildren. Yet soon, other discoveries will be made, and longstanding secrets unearthed. But when teenagers start disappearing from the cemetery, the danger hits closer to home than River imagined possible. Drawn back into the lives—and lies—of the Golds—she’ll have to use her every resource to keep herself, and her loved ones, safe.
Lisa Childs is an award-winning, New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of almost 100 novels. She was born on Halloween, which may have fated her predilection for spinning dark and twisty stories. Published in more than 20 countries across multiple genres, she lives in Michigan and can be found online at LisaChilds.com.
Product Details ISBN: 9781496748997
ISBN-10: 1496748999
Publisher: Kensington
Publication Date: August 20th, 2024
Pages: 288
Language: English
Series: The Grave Diggers
Praise for Lisa Childs

"Lisa Childs' hauntingly dark story will keep you turning the pages until the very end.  Deliciously addictive." —Alexandra Ivy, New York Times Bestselling Author on The House by the Cemetery

“Grips you from the beginning and refuses to let you go until the very end.” —Elle James, New York Times bestselling author

“Atmospheric, emotional, and well-told.” —Lori Wilde, New York Times bestselling author on The Runaway

“Lisa Childs paints an eerie, haunting suspense that will keep you riveted until the very last page!” —Rita Herron, USA Today bestselling author on The Runaway

“A page-turning romantic thriller. Bane Island may be a dangerous place, but readers will look forward to coming back.”Publishers Weekly on The Hunted

“I thoroughly enjoyed this novel, which was suspenseful and entertaining, and has plenty of action and drama. I found the writing style relatable, vivid, and irresistible.” Mystery and Suspense Magazine on The Hunted