Familia: A Riveting and Unforgettable Novel of Sisterhood (Paperback)

Familia: A Riveting and Unforgettable Novel of Sisterhood By Lauren E. Rico Cover Image

Familia: A Riveting and Unforgettable Novel of Sisterhood (Paperback)

$17.95


On Our Shelves Now
McLean & Eakin
1 on hand, as of Apr 22 9:21pm
(FICTION)

January 2024 Indie Next List


“A transformative story about how we find ourselves and what makes family. It’s about how our advantages shape our lives and world view, a crime thriller in places, and a journey into a fractured sisterhood. One of my favorite books of the year.”
— Sara Crow, Crow & Co. Books, Hutchinson, KS

"A masterfully woven tale of mystery, reconciliation, and familial love." –Abby Jimenez, New York Times Bestselling Author

Readers of Olga Dies Dreaming and fans of Julia Alvarez will be captivated by this spellbinding story told from multiple perspectives and spanning a generation, as a baffling genealogy test connects two young women across cultures and class and sets in motion the events that might unravel a decades-old crime at last.

"With every turn of the page, readers are drawn to exploring the complexities that bind every person to their roots, celebrating the tenacious pursuit of identity." – LA Times

Book of the Month Club Add-On Selection | GoodReads Readers' Most Anticipated Books | The Daily Mail Best New Books | Indie Next Pick | LibraryReads Selection | GoodReads The Fall Books Goodreads Editors Can't Wait to Read | Library Journal Fall Book Preview, The Titles to Read in 2023


What if your most basic beliefs about your life were suddenly revealed to be a lie?

As the fact checker for a popular magazine, Gabby DiMarco believes in absolute, verifiable Truths—until they throw the facts of her own life into question. The genealogy test she took as research for an article has yielded a baffling result: Gabby has a sister—one who’s been desperately trying to find her. Except, as Gabby’s beloved parents would confirm if they were still alive, that’s impossible.

Isabella Ruiz can still picture the face of her baby sister, who disappeared from the streets of San Juan twenty-five years ago. Isabella, an artist, has fought hard for the stable home and loving marriage she has today—yet the longing to find Marianna has never left. At last, she’s found a match, and Gabby has agreed to come to Puerto Rico.

But Gabby, as defensive and cautious as Isabella is impulsive, offers no happy reunion. She insists there’s been a mistake. And Isabella realizes that even if this woman is her sister, she may not want to be.

With nothing—or perhaps so much—in common, Gabby and Isabella set out to find the truth, though it means risking everything they’ve known for an uncertain future—and a past that harbors yet more surprises . . .

"A compulsive story with engaging characters that hooked me from the start. This is a must read!" –Kerry Lonsdale, Wall Street Journal and Washington Post & Bestselling Author

"Lauren Rico’s FAMILIA has it all. By page 30, I would have walked on coals to finish reading this story." –Jacquelyn Mitchard, New York Times bestselling author of The Deep End of the Ocean

"An absolute delight. I couldn't stop turning the pages." –KJ Dell'Antonia, New York Times Bestselling Author of The Chicken Sisters (A Reese's Book Club Pick)

“A moving story about the bonds of sisterhood and unraveling the mysteries of your past. A wonderful debut!” –Annette Chavez Macias, bestselling author of Big Chicas Don’t Cry
Lauren Rico is an award-winning author and one of the top classical music broadcasters in the country. Her voice is heard nationally on SiriusXM’s Symphony Hall channel, as well as on radio stations in New York City, Charlotte, and Tampa. A graduate of the University of South Florida and George Mason University, she lives outside New York City. For more info, visit LaurenRico.com.
Product Details ISBN: 9781496744647
ISBN-10: 1496744640
Publisher: Kensington
Publication Date: December 26th, 2023
Pages: 368
Language: English
Praise for Familia

"Rico dazzles with a surprising story of the pleasures and pitfalls of amateur genealogy. Rico perfectly portrays the possible sisters’ fraught relationship through a series of surprising twists and turns. This skillful tale enchants." Publishers Weekly

“Rico combines sharp, thoughtful observation with an engaging plot in her women’s-fiction debut. Readers will be invested in Gabby and Isabella’s story, and the alternating chapters, which tell the story of Marianna’s abduction from the perspective of the people who were involved, add a layer of suspense. It’s an irresistible blend of family drama and mystery, ideal for fans of Julia Alvarez and Diane Chamberlain.” —Booklist

“A moving story about the bonds of sisterhood and unraveling the mysteries of your past. I truly enjoyed going on this journey with Isabella and Gabby. A wonderful debut!” —Annette Chavez Macias, bestselling author of Big Chicas Don’t Cry

“Rico's novel is a love letter to her heritage. Her descriptions of the island's neighborhoods (especially street art), traditions (fairy-tale quinceañeras), and iconic dishes enable an immersive experience as the would-be sisters follow elusive leads and bypass previous dead ends. Rico cleverly balances a diverse supporting cast, both unreliable and persuasive. Even as Rico highlights connections by blood, she repeatedly reminds readers, ‘It's not about who we share our DNA with so much as who we share our heart with.’” —Shelf Awareness

Familia is a heartwarming story with autobiographical memories of the author’s childhood visits to a tiny fishing village on the southwest coast, a place where neighbors became extended family.” —WSHU’s Baum on Books

"A masterfully woven tale of mystery, reconciliation, and familial love." —Abby Jimenez, New York Times bestselling author

"Familia is an absolute delight. I couldn't stop turning the pages—I needed to know what the both the past and the future held for these sisters and how they would put together the pieces of the events that separated them to make their family whole again." —KJ Dell'Antonia, New York Times Bestselling Author of The Chicken Sisters (A Reese's Book Club Pick)

“A page-turning story of family lost and found, wrapped in the tangled threads of an engaging mystery, and sprinkled with just a bit of Sazón, I loved everything about this modern yet timeless book.” —Ann Dávila Cardinal, author of The Storyteller’s Death (And International Latino Book Awards Winning Author)

"Familia is a compelling and emotional narrative that explores a past wrapped in secrets, the bonds of sisterhood, and what it means to be family. With twists that unfold in every chapter, Lauren E. Rico crafts a compulsive story with engaging characters that hooked me from the start. Gabby and Isabella will stay with you long after you finish the last page. This is a must read! —Kerry Lonsdale, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post & Amazon Charts Bestselling Author

Familia has it all: An old crime, unsuspecting victims, a genetic mystery that will explode a family, the enormous tenderness of desperate parents. By page 30, I would have walked on coals to finish reading this story." —Jacquelyn Mitchard, New York Times bestselling author of The Deep End of the Ocean

Familia is a novel of robust joy. The story spills off the page in a rush of emotion that makes you feel like you've been on the journey of a lifetime. Simply marvelous!” —Amy T. Matthews, author of Someone Else’s Bucket List