A Sky of Paper Stars (Hardcover)

A Sky of Paper Stars By Susie Yi, Susie Yi (Illustrator) Cover Image

A Sky of Paper Stars (Hardcover)

By Susie Yi, Susie Yi (Illustrator)

$22.99


Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

A Sky of Paper Stars is a heartrending middle-grade graphic novel by Susie Yi about a girl’s ill-fated wish to fit in, perfect for readers of Stargazing and Pashmina.

All Yuna wants is to belong. She wants to go to sleepovers, have a smart phone, and go to summer camp—just like her friends in middle school.

Furious at her Umma for never packing her a “normal” American lunch, they get into yet another fight. Out of options and miserable, Yuna remembers a legend that her grandma, Halmoni, told her. If you fold 1,000 paper stars, you will be granted one wish.

When she reaches 1,000 paper stars, Yuna wishes for her family to move back to Korea, where she can finally be normal. Seconds later: a knock at her door. It’s her sister with devastating news. Halmoni has died and they must go back to Korea to attend the funeral.

Yuna knows this is all her fault. As her guilt builds, her body begins to turn into paper. Yuna realizes she must undo her wish and bring her Halmoni back—or turn into paper forever.

Wholly heartbreaking and with light touches of magic realism, A Sky of Paper Stars is a captivating graphic novel about identity, family, and the love that can bridge generations.

Susie Yi is a Korean-American author-illustrator. She debuted her children’s graphic novel career with the series Cat & Cat Adventures, published by HarperAlley, based on her beloved webcomic Cat & Cat Comics. She currently lives in sunny southern California with her two cats Mickey and Minnie.

Susie Yi is a Korean-American author-illustrator. She debuted her children’s graphic novel career with the series Cat & Cat Adventures, published by HarperAlley, based on her beloved webcomic Cat & Cat Comics. She currently lives in sunny southern California with her two cats Mickey and Minnie.

Product Details ISBN: 9781250843883
ISBN-10: 125084388X
Publisher: Roaring Brook Press
Publication Date: September 26th, 2023
Pages: 240
Language: English

A Little Maverick Graphic Novel Reading List Pick
An ALA 2023 Best Graphic Novel for 5-6th Grade

“I can't rave enough about A Sky of Paper Stars. It is charming, heartfelt and a joy to read. It's a beautiful story about grief and belonging that all ages can relate to. This graphic novel is a triumph for so many Korean American kids feeling caught between two cultures. Every page touched my heart and left me wishing I could give this book to my younger self.” —Michelle Mee Nutter, Eisner nominated, best-selling illustrator of Allergic

“Heartbreakingly beautiful! Such a simple, poignant story, brought to life in a fresh way by a talented storyteller and illustrator." —Abigail Hing Wen, New York Times best selling author of the Loveboat, Taipei series

"A heartfelt and magical journey about belonging and identity that will have you rooting for Yuna." —Remy Lai, award-winning author of Pie In the Sky

“A Sky of Paper Stars is a complex story of belonging that is beautifully told through charming illustrations and honest truth.” —Victoria Ying, author-illustrator of City of Secrets and Hungry Ghost

"This is a quiet and deeply moving story of intergenerational love and sacrifice... An affirming exploration of belonging and a testament to the power of family stories." —Kirkus, starred review

"A Korean American tween grapples with the ill-fated consequences of a wish in Yi’s tear-jerking speculative debut, a graphic novel loosely inspired by her experiences." —Publisher's Weekly

"The use of paper as a connective thread and metaphor throughout is powerful...A stirring look at the grief that comes from loss, distance, and a feeling of disconnect." —School Library Journal

"
Yi’s author’s note thoughtfully reveals the autobiographical nature of her heartfelt story presented in vivid, spirited panels that move back and forth in time. Yi relies on single hues that wash over past events while the present glows in gorgeous full color."Booklist

"Memory, magic, and mystery converge to tell an intergenerational story that captivates the imagination and heart." —Horn Book