Hidden Pictures: A Novel (Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
Hidden Pictures: A Novel By Jason Rekulak Cover Image

Hidden Pictures: A Novel (Paperback)

$17.99


On Our Shelves Now
McLean & Eakin
5 on hand, as of Feb 29 9:24am
(HORROR)

Staff Reviews


 
'Tis the season for spooky and thrilling reads, and Hidden Pictures checks off both of those must haves - especially for October reading. Mallory, a recovering addict fresh out of rehab, secures a job through her sponsor as a nanny for a family who have just moved into a wealthy New Jersey suburb. Right from the start, Mallory hits it off with 5-year-old Teddy and fits in with the Maxwell family, so much so that she is invited to stay in the family's guest house in the backyard. Teddy is sweet and shy with a passion for drawing. He and Mallory spend their days taking walks through the forest, baking, and drawing. But they’re not alone in their adventures.Teddy has an imaginary friend who joins in with them and at times, to Mallory's dismay, seems to have too much say into their activities. One day after a session of drawing, Mallory notices something different about Teddy’s usual sketches of balloons, stick figures and animals. They seem to have taken a sinister turn. Especially the one of a man dragging a woman’s body through the woods. As Teddy’s drawings continue and become more and more detailed Mallory's concern grows, and she begins to worry that the images may in fact be a real murder.
Part horror story, part thriller with a chilling touch of the paranormal, Hidden Pictures is the perfect fit for this Halloween season. AND to take it above and beyond on the creepy scale, Teddy’s drawings are shown throughout the book. This is the touch making this book the one that will have you reading late into the night with a night light ...or two... left on just to be safe.
— Maris

NATIONAL BESTSELLER · OPTIONED FOR NETFLIX BY A PRODUCER OF THE BATMAN

GOODREADS CHOICE AWARD WINNER

“I loved it." —Stephen King

From Edgar Award-finalist Jason Rekulak comes a wildly inventive spin on the supernatural thriller, for fans of Stranger Things and Riley Sager, about a woman working as a nanny for a young boy with strange and disturbing secrets.

Mallory Quinn is fresh out of rehab when she takes a job as a babysitter for Ted and Caroline Maxwell. She is to look after their five-year-old son, Teddy.

Mallory immediately loves it. She has her own living space, goes out for nightly runs, and has the stability she craves. And she sincerely bonds with Teddy, a sweet, shy boy who is never without his sketchbook and pencil. His drawings are the usual fare: trees, rabbits, balloons. But one day, he draws something different: a man in a forest, dragging a woman’s lifeless body.

Then, Teddy’s artwork becomes increasingly sinister, and his stick figures quickly evolve into lifelike sketches well beyond the ability of any five-year-old. Mallory begins to wonder if these are glimpses of a long-unsolved murder, perhaps relayed by a supernatural force.

Knowing just how crazy it all sounds, Mallory nevertheless sets out to decipher the images and save Teddy before it’s too late.

Jason Rekulak is the author of The Impossible Fortress, which was translated into 12 languages and was nominated for the Edgar Award. For many years, he was the publisher of Quirk Books, an independent press, where he acquired and edited multiple New York Times bestsellers. He lives in Philadelphia with his family.

Product Details ISBN: 9781250819352
ISBN-10: 1250819350
Publisher: Flatiron Books
Publication Date: June 6th, 2023
Pages: 400
Language: English

"It's almost enough to make a person believe in ghosts..." Kirkus Reviews

"The explosive third act gives this story a nail-biting ending sure to thrill. Paranormal perfection." Booklist

“Beautiful, terrifying, and surprisingly kind.”—CrimeReads

"I read Hidden Pictures and loved it. The language is straightforward, the surprises really surprise, and it has that hard-to-achieve propulsiveness that won't let you put it down. And the pictures are terrific!" Stephen King

“Whip-smart, creepy as hell, and masterfully plotted, Hidden Pictures is the best new thriller novel I’ve read in years. Destined to be a classic of the genre.” —Ransom Riggs, bestselling author of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

“Hidden Pictures is one of those rare gems that’s aware of the rules of the genre even as it breaks them and invents new ones. It’s a gas to read, full of wonderful new ideas, both literary and visual. This is one of those books you leave out long after finishing, just so your friends might see it and give you the chance to share it! Jason Rekulak is going to be telling us all stories for a good long while.” —Scott Frank, Academy Award-nominated screenwriter and Emmy-winning director of The Queen’s Gambit

"For a few days, my life was completely hijacked by Jason Rekulak's Hidden Pictures, one of the best and most inventive ghost stories I've read in years. The damaged but still fighting Mallory Quinn stole my heart and her plunge into supernatural wonder gripped my imagination. It's a beautiful dark rush of a novel. I'm already excited to read it again." —Joe Hill

Hidden Pictures isn’t a ghost story, it’s a scalpel that slices into our smug sense of self-satisfaction so deeply it hits bone. A perfect summer thriller complete with vengeful spirits, class warfare, and it even has pictures. What more could you want?” —Grady Hendrix, bestselling author of The Final Girl Support Group