Juniper’s Christmas (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
Juniper’s Christmas By Eoin Colfer Cover Image

Juniper’s Christmas (Hardcover)

$22.99


On Our Shelves Now
McLean & Eakin
6 on hand, as of Feb 21 9:24pm
(CH MIDDLE READER 9-12)

November/December 2023 Kids Indie Next List


Juniper’s Christmas is the perfect Christmas tale for our time. Santa’s burned out, the grownups are a little lost, and the only one who has it together is Juniper. Funny and heartwarming.”
— Jennifer Carney, Sidetrack Bookshop, Royal Oak, MI

Staff Reviews


Juniper Lane was born on Christmas morning and named after the red cedar Christmas trees (Juniperus virginiana) that gave London’s Cedar Park its name. Her father was the park ranger there but sadly passed away two years ago, and things have never been the same for her and her mother.
Nicholas Claus began training for his future career at the North Pole by working as a postman in North London. There he met a wonderful woman named Sarika and they were married. When Nicholas took his place as Santa, he and Sarika lived at the North Pole in “slow time” that allowed him to deliver presents all over the world. But it didn’t give them much time together, and when Sarika fell ill, Nicholas had to juggle being Santa with being a husband. After her death, he found he could no longer deliver to children who didn’t seem to appreciate him, and he left the North Pole to minister to the homeless in London’s Cedar Park.
When Juniper’s mother disappears, she is left on her own, with only the Duchess, Nicholas, and the other denizens of the park to help her find her mother before she is taken in by Children's Services. Nicholas is reluctant to help her, because he is hiding from the elves of the North Pole. Abandoning his heritage as Santa jeopardized everything. Without him, the world is a little darker and kindness and joy are slipping away. Needless to say, the elves are desperate to get Santa back in his sleigh.
Featuring Santa and elves, magic and baby reindeer, this is a charming retelling of the Santa story set in modern times and reminds us that sorrow and loss can, with kindness and caring, lead to joy and redemption. And, just maybe to a future Santa.

— From Karen B.

Now a New York Times bestseller, a Kirkus Best Book of 2023, an Indie Bestseller, a Kids' Indie Next List Pick, and a New York Times 2023 Holiday Gift Guide Pick!

From the acclaimed, mega-bestselling Eoin Colfer comes a joyful, heartwarming Christmas classic-in-the-making recommended by the New York Times: "Have no fear: Juniper’s Christmas will restore any child’s holiday spirit." This season, share this special story with readers of all ages who believe in the power of hope, kindness, and holiday magic.

Eleven-year-old Juniper Lane is thrown into a Christmas adventure like no other when she seeks the help of a mysterious woodsman living in her local park, who she suspects is Santa himself, and accidentally gets exposed to North Pole magic. Join a boisterous cast of characters—including a neighbor who always believed in Santa, a young reindeer in training, and a cutthroat crime boss out to steal Santa’s magic—on an unpredictable journey bursting with Eoin Colfer’s signature exuberance and merriment. Complete with cheerful, festive illustrations, this is a beautifully packaged tale of wonder, sure to delight readers and inspire the Christmas spirit in the whole family.

Celebrate the holidays with a story of joy, magic, and saving Santa Claus, from a celebrated author beloved for his spirited storytelling. Juniper’s Christmas is the perfect holiday read, year after year.

Eoin Colfer is the best-selling author of the children's fantasy series Artemis Fowl. His other notable works include The Dog Who Lost His Bark, illustrated by P.J. Lynch, and the novels Half Moon Investigations, Airman, and The Supernaturalist. The recipient of many awards, he lives in Ireland.
Product Details ISBN: 9781250321947
ISBN-10: 1250321948
Publisher: Roaring Brook Press
Publication Date: October 31st, 2023
Pages: 368
Language: English

A Kids' Indie Next List Pick
A Kirkus Best Book of 2023
A New York Times 2023 Holiday Gift Guide Pick

"Have no fear: Juniper’s Christmas will restore any child’s holiday spirit." —New York Times 2023 Holiday Gift Guide

"Colfer weaves a love story with numerous characters . . . [centered] on the determined efforts of his perceptive and big-hearted young protagonist. A soaring flight fueled by joys, sorrows, and deeds both ill and good." —Kirkus, starred review

"A warmhearted Christmas novel. . . [with] a fresh spin on familiar holiday themes, including forgiveness, healing, and hope." —Publishers Weekly, starred review

"Colfer is a master storyteller . . . A delightful tale. Readers will enjoy the imaginative story filled with lush prose and a heartwarming ending." —School Library Journal

“This tale of finding joy and hope where you can even in the face of grief is the perfect holiday book for fans of Wishtree, Pax and The One and Only Ivan.” —Angie Tally, The Country Bookshop, Southern Pines, NC

“A tale of loss infused with adventure, magic, and hope, Juniper’s Christmas is the perfect holiday read to share with family and friends.” —Alyssa Raymond, Copper Dog Books, Beverly MA

“This has all the feels of a perfect Christmas classic! I can already see this becoming a yearly tradition to read every December.” —Olivia Schaffer, The Bookshelf, Thomasville, GA