The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue Cover Image
$26.99
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Staff Reviews


For those of you who remember Hannah and Angelo, you've probably had V.E. Schwab's books energetically and passionately recommended to you, and for good reason. She is a master storyteller and her new book is definitely one of my favorites of 2020 so far.
Addie LaRue is a farmer from a poor family in 1714 France. All she wants to do is get out of the only small town she has ever known. She goes to sleep at night thinking about what the world might look like beyond the farm. When her father arranges a marriage with the son of a local wealthy family, she knows that she is destined to be stuck forever. She prays and prays that something will happen to free her from the clutches of normal life, and one night, the devil answers her prayers. The cost of being free is immortality, but she can never leave a mark on the world, and people only remember her for as long as they can see her. The story takes place in 1714 France where Addie must learn how to navigate a world where no one remembers her, and 2018 New York, where she has finally found a way to free herself from the Devil's grasp. But at what cost?
I am telling you about this book now, so you can prepare yourself for one of the most amazing reads of the year. Pre-order it, save it in your phone, put a sticky note on the fridge, whatever it takes to remember. This is a book I will be talking about for a very, very long time. Addie LaRue deserves to be remembered.

— From Zach

Description


In the vein of The Time Traveler’s Wife and Life After Life, The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue is New York Times bestselling author V. E. Schwab’s genre-defying tour de force.

A Life No One Will Remember. A Story You Will Never Forget.


France, 1714: in a moment of desperation, a young woman makes a Faustian bargain to live forever—and is cursed to be forgotten by everyone she meets.

Thus begins the extraordinary life of Addie LaRue, and a dazzling adventure that will play out across centuries and continents, across history and art, as a young woman learns how far she will go to leave her mark on the world.

But everything changes when, after nearly 300 years, Addie stumbles across a young man in a hidden bookstore and he remembers her name.

About the Author


VICTORIA “V.E.” SCHWAB is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of more than a dozen books, including the acclaimed Shades of Magic series, Villains series, This Savage Song, and Our Dark Duet. Her work has received critical acclaim, been featured in the New York Times, Entertainment Weekly, Washington Post and more, translated into more than a dozen languages, and has been optioned for television and film. When she’s not haunting Paris streets or trudging up English hillsides, she lives in Edinburgh, Scotland and is usually tucked in the corner of a coffee shop, dreaming up monsters.

Praise For…


Praise for The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue:
“For someone damned to be forgettable, Addie LaRue is a most delightfully unforgettable character, and her story is the most joyous evocation of unlikely immortality.”
Neil Gaiman, author of American Gods and winner of multiple Nebula, Hugo, and Locus Awards

“Victoria Schwab sends you whirling through a dizzying kaleidoscopic adventure through centuries filled with love, loss, art and war — all the while dazzling your senses with hundreds of tiny magical moments along the way. The Invisible Life of Addie Larue will enchant readers as deeply as its heroine’s Faustian bargain; you will find yourself in quick turns both aching with heartbreak, and gleefully crowing at the truly delicious, wicked cleverness in store.”
Naomi Novik, Nebula and Locus Award-winning author of Spinning Silver

Addie Larue is a book perfectly suspended between darkness and light, myth and reality. [This novel] is—ironically—unforgettable.” — Hugo Award winner Alix E. Harrow, author of The Ten Thousand Doors of January

“The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue is the kind of book you encounter only once in a lifetime. . . . A defiant, joyous rebellion against time, fate, and even death itself—and a powerful reminder that the only magic great enough to conquer all of it is love.”— Peng Shepherd, author of The Book of M

Praise for the Shades of Magic series:

“Addictive and immersive, this series is a must-read.” —Entertainment Weekly, Grade A, on A Gathering of Shadows

“A gem of a tale.... This is a book to treasure.” —Deborah Harkness on A Darker Shade of Magic

“Compulsively readable.... With so many worlds on the map, there's plenty left to discover.”—NPR on A Darker Shade of Magic

“Feels like a priceless object, brought from another, better world of fantasy books.” —io9 on A Darker Shade of Magic



Product Details
ISBN: 9780765387561
ISBN-10: 0765387565
Publisher: Tor Books
Publication Date: October 6th, 2020
Pages: 448
 
 
 
Zircon - This is a contributing Drupal Theme
Design by WeebPal.