The White Mountains (The Tripods #1) (Paperback)

Staff Pick Logo
The White Mountains (The Tripods #1) Cover Image
Hard to Find

Staff Reviews

As a 10 year old boy, it was hard to get me to focus on anything for
long... let alone a book. There were forests to explore and lakes that
must be jumped into, but one series that got my undivided attention was
the Tripod Trilogy from John Christopher. The first book in the series,
White Mountains, begins in a small English village. The rich
descriptions give you the feeling that the book is set in the late
1700's, but gradually, little clues indicate that this is not a tale
from our past but from a time yet to come. We learn that all of the
children in this society have a cap placed on their heads at a certain
age by mysterious towering tripods during a ceremony that is considered a
passage into adulthood. We also learn that sometimes these "caps" fail
and it turn the child into a "vagrant." When a few young boys decide
they'd rather live as they are and not be "capped" they are forced to
flee their tranquil town and begin a journey that will only end when the
mystery of the Tripods is fully revealed. This is a wonderful and
adventurous trilogy of books that is perfect for boys 7-11.

— Matt


Long ago, the Tripods--huge, three-legged machines--descended upon Earth and took control. Now people unquestioningly accept the Tripods' power. They have no control over their thoughts or their lives. But for a brief time in each person's life--in childhood--he is not a slave. For Will, his time of freedom is about to end--unless he can escape to the White Mountains, where the possibility of freedom still exists. The Tripods trilogy follows the adventures of Will and his cohorts, as they try to evade the Tripods and maintian their freedom and ultimately do battle against them. The prequel, When the Tripods Came, explains how the Tripods first invaded and gained control of the planet.

About the Author

John Christopher was the pseudonym of Samuel Youd, who was born in Lancashire, England, in 1922. He was the author of more than fifty novels and novellas, as well as numerous short stories. His most famous books include The Death of Grass, the Tripods trilogy, The Lotus Caves, and The Guardians.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780689856723
ISBN-10: 0689856725
Publisher: Simon Pulse
Publication Date: April 1st, 2003
Pages: 208
Language: English
Series: The Tripods

Signed Editions

Zircon - This is a contributing Drupal Theme
Design by WeebPal.