Take Two, Birdie Maxwell (Paperback)

Take Two, Birdie Maxwell By Allison Winn Scotch Cover Image

Take Two, Birdie Maxwell (Paperback)

$18.00


On Our Shelves Now
McLean & Eakin
1 on hand, as of Jun 12 1:08pm
(ROMANCE)
A USA TODAY BESTSELLER!

Hollywood’s biggest rom-com star tries to recover from her damaged reputation by staging her own rom-com and following a lead on a lost love.

 
Birdie Robinson thought she’d gotten everything she wanted out of life: fame, adoration, and an A-list Hollywood career. But after an on-set feud goes viral, she leaves L.A. for the one place where no one would think to find her: her hometown. She’s startled to stumble upon a love letter from a former boyfriend asking for a second chance. And there’s just one issue: the letter was unsigned and she’s not sure which ex sent it. Still, a public reunion with an ex-boyfriend could turn the wave of public opinion back in her favor. Life imitating art. What could go wrong? 
 
Elliot O’Brien, star reporter, knows that life isn’t an actual rom-com. Case in point, he’s spent two decades repressing his long-simmering feelings for his twin sister’s best friend, Birdie. But with his journalism career cratering and Birdie back in their hometown at the same time he is, he realizes that chronicling her search for her long-ago ex may be his opportunity to right some wrongs.
 
As they hit the road in an ancient RV, Birdie and Elliot retrace her romantic history for clues to who wrote the letter and come face to face with their own romantic missteps, all while grappling with whether happy endings are found only on the big screen—or whether their own happier ever after could be closer than they both ever imagined. 

Allison Winn Scotch is the New York Times bestselling author of nine novels, including Cleo McDougal Regrets Nothing, In Twenty Years, and Time of My Life. She lives in Los Angeles with her family and their two rescue dogs, Hugo and Mr. Peanut.

Product Details ISBN: 9780593546550
ISBN-10: 0593546555
Publisher: Berkley
Publication Date: March 5th, 2024
Pages: 368
Language: English
"A hilarious, unbridled romp."—Elle

“Witty, warm and totally unexpected, Take Two, Birdie Maxwell is a page-turning delight of a rom-com about the enduring magic of first love and the paths our lives often take only to leave us right where we started. I devoured this in one sitting and wished it would go on forever.”—Annabel Monaghan, bestselling author of Same Time Next Summer

Take Two, Birdie Maxwell is a delightful romp and lots of fun.”—Elissa Sussman, bestselling author of Once More With Feeling
 
“Allison Winn Scotch masterfully weaves together an irresistible story about the enduring power of first love. Readers will be rooting for Birdie from the very first page. (And maybe crying with joy at the ending, like I did!)”—Kate Spencer, author of In a New York Minute

“Scotch’s passionate and fast-paced story follows a roller coaster of ups and downs involving fame, friendship, and family. Will satisfy fans of classic rom-coms like Notting Hill and You’ve Got Mail.” – Library Journal

“Scotch balances wit and introspection beautifully throughout, peeling back her characters’ emotional layers. Readers will have no trouble hopping aboard the Elliot and Birdie bandwagon.”—Publishers Weekly

“In this sweet, sometimes silly story about learning from your past mistakes while working on your current ones, Scotch (The Rewind, 2022) weaves a second-chance romance perfect for fans of Schitt’s Creek and Notting Hill.”— Booklist

"A hilarious, unbridled romp."Elle

 
Praise for The Rewind

“A charming love story rich with nineties nostalgia, The Rewind is Allison Winn Scotch’s best book yet.”—#1 New York Times bestselling author Emily Giffin

The Rewind is as much an endearing love story about the one that got away as it is a love letter to all things 90s, including Doc Martens, Y2K and dial-up Internet. Fresh, original and compelling, this book is Allison Winn Scotch at her absolute best.”USA Today bestselling author Colleen Oakley

“Sassy, engaging and warm, The Rewind is a sharp and witty rom-com about the road not taken—and the people who find their way back to us anyway. Ezra and Frankie are magic together. You won’t be able to put this down until happily-ever-after.”—#1 New York Times bestselling author Laura Dave

“A dazzling second-chance romance…This is the Y2K new-millennium story I didn’t know I needed.”Washington Independent Review of Books

“Nineties nostalgia is alive and well in this moving story of a lost first love and second chances. Readers will enjoy piecing together both the story of the forgotten night and the reasons behind the relationship’s disastrous first ending.”—Library Journal