Lucky Scramble (Hardcover)

Lucky Scramble By Peter Raymundo Cover Image

Lucky Scramble (Hardcover)

$20.99


Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Six competitive cubers face off at the Speed Cubing national championships in this graphic novel that's perfect for fans of Roller Girl and the Last Kids on Earth series.

Despite qualifying for the Speed Cubing National Championships in Las Vegas, twelve-year-old Tyler Goodman and his mom don’t have the money to get him there. That is, until the retailer CubeMania offers him one of their coveted all-expenses-paid sponsorships! But getting to Vegas is just the beginning: There are hundreds of speed cubers from around the country, and each has something to prove. Like Dirk, who's certain he's about to nab his third straight National Championship trophy. Lizzy and Izzy Peterson, twins who crush cubing competitions with the exact same moves and times—until one of them decides to break the mold. Renowned eight-year-old prodigy Eli Newton solved his first puzzle cube at five, yet his dad seems much more excited about the sport and there’s something . . . off about his cubes. And then there’s Miles Oldman, the first American to solve the cube in under 40 seconds, who’s back decades later to set some new records. As Lucky Scramble moves with lightning speed between the stories of these six contestants—plus that of CubeMania’s founder and CEO Victor Chen—puzzle cube devotees and fans of graphic novels alike won’t be able to resist racing through the pages until the very last cube has been solved.
Peter Raymundo was twenty-one years old when he went to work for Walt Disney Studios as part of their Feature Animation Division. There he drew (and drew and drew) for films such as Tarzan, Lilo & Stitch, and Mulan. Pete is the creator of the picture books The Mysterious Sea Bunny and I Am Not a Fish! as well as the Third Grade Mermaid chapter book series. He and his family live in Celebration, Florida.

Product Details ISBN: 9780593531907
ISBN-10: 0593531906
Publisher: Dial Books
Publication Date: April 23rd, 2024
Pages: 192
Language: English
"Via reportorial prose and warmly rendered comics panels and spot illustrations, Raymundo imbues this story with tons of heart and action and brings to life a niche world ripe for exploring. Well-plotted emotional beats deftly ferry Tyler’s journey to victory, and the ensuing excitement will have readers eagerly turning the pages of this ode to determination and the relationships that competition can foster." —Publishers Weekly