The Love Hypothesis (Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
The Love Hypothesis By Ali Hazelwood Cover Image

The Love Hypothesis (Paperback)

$16.00


On Our Shelves Now
McLean & Eakin
4 on hand, as of Apr 21 9:22am
(ROMANCE)

September 2021 Indie Next List


“If, like me, your catnip is the taciturn, brainy, hot hero who is secretly a big squishy marshmallow at heart, look no further than this awesome debut!”
— Angela Trigg, The Haunted Book Shop, Mobile, AL

Staff Reviews


This is the perfect read if you are looking for a "tropey"-to-the-brim romance. Fake dating, grumpy-sunshine, enemies-to-lovers, I could go on. Amazingly, Hazelwood manages to pack this story full without it feeling as if you are reading just a bunch of goopy fluff.
The heart of this story focuses on Olive, a third year Ph.D. candidate who is just trying to survive school and not lose her love for science. As she continues to trial her experiments, mind the undergrads, and convince herself the tedium will all be worth it, her best friend Ahn is also deeply concerned about Olive’s love life. Too concerned. So concerned that she’s constantly bringing it up and trying to land Olive a man. -As if Olive has the time! What she really needs is more time in the lab and a really great breakthrough. In an act of desperation, she lies to Ahn telling her she has a date, when in fact she is sneaking away to the lab once again. On the brink of being caught in the middle of her lie Olive takes a leap (literally) and ends up kissing the one man she really does not want to kiss (obviously) to throw Ahn off the scent. And that my friends is exactly how you begin to fake date a professor; a very ill-humored and laser-focused-on-his-work professor. Dun duh da daaaaaa and we are off on a wonderful and hilarious love story. An excellent palate cleanser in the form of a fun and sweet read.
— From Katie

The Instant New York Times Bestseller and TikTok Sensation!

As seen on THE VIEW!

A BuzzFeed Best Summer Read of 2021

When a fake relationship between scientists meets the irresistible force of attraction, it throws one woman's carefully calculated theories on love into chaos.


As a third-year Ph.D. candidate, Olive Smith doesn't believe in lasting romantic relationships--but her best friend does, and that's what got her into this situation. Convincing Anh that Olive is dating and well on her way to a happily ever after was always going to take more than hand-wavy Jedi mind tricks: Scientists require proof. So, like any self-respecting biologist, Olive panics and kisses the first man she sees.

That man is none other than Adam Carlsen, a young hotshot professor--and well-known ass. Which is why Olive is positively floored when Stanford's reigning lab tyrant agrees to keep her charade a secret and be her fake boyfriend. But when a big science conference goes haywire, putting Olive's career on the Bunsen burner, Adam surprises her again with his unyielding support and even more unyielding...six-pack abs.

Suddenly their little experiment feels dangerously close to combustion. And Olive discovers that the only thing more complicated than a hypothesis on love is putting her own heart under the microscope.
Ali Hazelwood is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Love, Theoretically and The Love Hypothesis, as well as a writer of peer-reviewed articles about brain science, in which no one makes out and the ever after is not always happy. Originally from Italy, she lived in Germany and Japan before moving to the US to pursue a PhD in neuroscience. When Ali is not at work, she can be found running, eating cake pops, or watching sci-fi movies with her three feline overlords (and her slightly-less-feline husband).

Product Details ISBN: 9780593336823
ISBN-10: 0593336828
Publisher: Berkley
Publication Date: September 14th, 2021
Pages: 400
Language: English
An Indie Next Pick!

"A literary breakthrough…The Love Hypothesis is a self-assured debut, and we hypothesize it's just the first bit of greatness we'll see from an author who somehow has the audacity to be both an academic powerhouse and divinely talented novelist."—Entertainment Weekly

Contemporary romance's unicorn: the elusive marriage of deeply brainy and delightfully escapist...The Love Hypothesis has wild commercial appeal but the quieter secret is that there is a specific audience, made up of all of the Olives in the world, who have deeply, ardently waited for this exact book.”—Christina Lauren, New York Times bestselling author

“Funny, sexy and smart, Ali Hazelwood did a terrific job with The Love Hypothesis.”—Mariana Zapata, New York Times bestselling author

“This tackles one of my favorite tropes—Grumpy meets Sunshine—in a fun and utterly endearing way...I loved the nods towards fandom and romance novels, and I couldn't put it down. Highly recommended!”—Jessica Clare, New York Times bestselling author

"Pure slow-burning gold with lots of chemistry."—Popsugar

"A beautifully written romantic comedy with a heroine you will instantly fall in love with, The Love Hypothesis is destined to earn a place on your keeper shelf."—Elizabeth Everett, author of A Lady's Formula for Love

"Smart, witty dialog and a diverse cast of likable secondary characters...A realistic, amusing novel that readers won’t be able to put down."—Library Journal, starred review

"Hilarious and heartwarming, The Love Hypothesis is romantic comedy at its best...a perfect amalgamation of sex and science, sure to appeal to readers of Christina Lauren or Abby Jimenez."—Shelf Awareness

"With whip-smart and endearing characters, snappy prose, and a quirky take on a favorite trope, Hazelwood convincingly navigates the fraught shoals of academia...This smart, sexy contemporary should delight a wide swath of romance lovers."—Publishers Weekly