Shards of Earth (The Final Architecture #1) (Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
Shards of Earth (The Final Architecture #1) By Adrian Tchaikovsky Cover Image

Shards of Earth (The Final Architecture #1) (Paperback)

$19.99


On Our Shelves Now
McLean & Eakin
2 on hand, as of Apr 16 9:21pm
(SCIENCE FICTION/FANTASY)

Other Books in Series

This is book number 1 in the The Final Architecture series.

Staff Reviews


Man ventured out among the stars centuries ago; immense distances were conquered and grand diversity of alien life was discovered; empires formed and failed and thrived yet again; all before the Architects appeared: grand interstellar leviathans the size of moons, with the ability to tear apart whole planets. For years they’d appear without warning destroying entire civilizations. They made no demands. Indeed there was no known way to even communicate with them until humanity was able to engineer a soldier like Idris, a telepath that could reach out and connect with the giant aliens. Upon making first contact, the Architects promptly disappeared. No treaty, no surrendering, just vanished. 50 years later the gifts bestowed upon Idris have left him capable of navigating to the deepest corners of the universe but have robbed him of the ability to sleep. His journeys have shown him more than any man should see but what he and as his crew of misfits just discovered is something that has him frightened for the first time in decades. Have the Architects returned? Is there any hope of defeating them? Is there anywhere to run?
Tchaikovsky has once again created a vibrant universe whose grand scale envelopes the reader entirely. Thankfully, this is just book one, and I’ll be waiting with anticipation for my next journey into “unspace.” For fans of
The Expanse, Three Body Problem or Hyperion.

The Arthur C. Clarke award-winning author of Children of Time brings us an extraordinary space opera about humanity on the brink of extinction, and how one man's discovery will save or destroy us all.

The war is over. Its heroes forgotten. Until one chance discovery . . .

Idris has neither aged nor slept since they remade him in the war. And one of humanity's heroes now scrapes by on a freelance salvage vessel, to avoid the attention of greater powers.

After earth was destroyed, mankind created a fighting elite to save their species, enhanced humans such as Idris. In the silence of space they could communicate, mind-to-mind, with the enemy. Then their alien aggressors, the Architects, simply disappeared—and Idris and his kind became obsolete.

Now, fifty years later, Idris and his crew have discovered something strange abandoned in space. It's clearly the work of the Architects—but are they returning? And if so, why? Hunted by gangsters, cults and governments, Idris and his crew race across the galaxy hunting for answers. For they now possess something of incalculable value, that many would kill to obtain.

Adrian Tchaikovsky was born in Woodhall Spa, Lincolnshire, and headed off to university in Reading to study psychology and zoology. For reasons unclear even to himself, he subsequently ended up in law. Adrian has since worked as a legal executive in both Reading and Leeds and now writes full time. He also lives in Leeds, with his wife and son. Adrian is a keen live role-player and occasional amateur actor. He has also trained in stage-fighting and keeps no exotic or dangerous pets of any kind—possibly excepting his son.


Product Details ISBN: 9780316705844
ISBN-10: 0316705845
Publisher: Orbit
Publication Date: March 8th, 2022
Pages: 592
Language: English
Series: The Final Architecture
"What a ride . . . talks like big-brained science fiction and runs like a fleet-footed political thriller."—John Scalzi on The Doors of Eden

"Inventive, funny and engrossing, this book lingers long after you close it."
 —Tade Thompson, Arthur C. Clarke Award-winning author of Rosewater on The Doors of Eden

"Brilliant science fiction and far out worldbuilding."—James McAvoy on Children of Time

"With The Doors of Eden, Tchaikovsky has created a fantastic and highly imaginative new genre: evolution SF."—Peter F. Hamilton on The Doors of Eden