The Light of All That Falls (The Licanius Trilogy #3) (Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
The Light of All That Falls (The Licanius Trilogy #3) Cover Image
On Our Shelves Now
36 on hand, as of Feb 27 10:48am

Other Books in Series

This is book number 3 in the The Licanius Trilogy series.

Staff Reviews

(Please note that you will want all three books in the series. Click here to access all at once. You're welcome.)

The Shadow of What was Lost had been sitting on my shelf at home for around three years. This isn't uncommon when you have enough books sitting around to construct a (to scale) replica of the Empire State Building using books instead of bricks. You know what I'm talking about. Anyway... It just sat there, on my bookshelf, catching my eye every time I looked over, just waiting for me to pick it up. When the Jumanji drum beats became too loud to bear, I picked it up and became totally and completely obsessed. Within just two weeks I had read all three books in the trilogy and had no one to talk to about it. How lucky am I that I can now tell all of you about the best fantasy trilogy I've ever read. (okay, that is a bold statement as most of you know how die hard I am for the Kingkiller Chronicles, but until Rothfuss releases book three, Licanius has the crown)

The story follows Davian, Asha, and Wirr, all gifted students of the school of magic. Disaster strikes early in their education and they are forced apart, each with their own fate to follow. Davian is pushed into a world of magic and old gods, unlike anything he has ever dreamed. Wirr's history comes back to push him into the spotlight, and Asha is destined for greatness whether she is ready for it or not. Is their story already written in the final ink of fate, or will their choices make a difference in the end? Ancient evil lurks in the shadows as our heroes are tested to their limits and beyond. James Islington has created a world that you will get lost in, characters that you will call your friends, and a story that gets better and better every time you turn the page.

Trust me here. If you like The Lord of the Rings, or The Name of the Wind, or fantasy at all, you need these books. Buy them, then email me when you finish it and we can talk about how incredible this series is.

— Zach


The journey that began with The Shadow of What Was Lostreaches its spectacular conclusion in The Light of All That Falls, the final chapter of the Licanius Trilogy by acclaimed epic fantasy author James Islington.

After a savage battle, the Boundary is whole again -- but it may be too late. Banes now stalk the lands of Andarra, and the Venerate have gathered their armies for a final, crushing blow.

In Ilin Illan, Wirr fights to maintain a precarious alliance between Andarra's factions of power. With dark forces closing in on the capital, if he cannot succeed, the war is lost.

Imprisoned and alone in a strange land, Davian is pitted against the remaining Venerate. As he desperately tries to keep them from undoing Asha's sacrifice, he struggles to come to terms with his own path and all he has learned about Caeden, the friend he chose to set free.

Finally, Caeden is confronted with the reality of a plan laid centuries ago -- heartbroken at how it started and devastated by how it must end.

The Licanius Trilogy
The Shadow of What Was Lost
An Echo of Things to Come
The Light of All That Falls

"Love The Wheel of Time? This is about to become your new favorite series." - B&N SciFi & Fantasy Blog

About the Author

James Islington was born and raised in southern Victoria, Australia. His influences growing up were the stories of Raymond E. Feist and Robert Jordan, but it wasn't until later, when he read Brandon Sanderson's Mistborn series -- followed soon after by Patrick Rothfuss' Name of the Wind -- that he was finally inspired to sit down and write something of his own. He now lives with his wife and daughter on the Mornington Peninsula in Victoria.

Praise For…

"Reminiscent of Robert Jordan or Brandon Sanderson, Islington's writing is refreshingly fast paced, with a light and clever touch."—Booklist on An Echo of Things to Come

"Islington's magic-soaked setting has plenty of opportunities for conflict between competing powers even as earth-shattering evil approaches. Epic fantasy fans will enjoy this dense, suspenseful adventure."—Publishers Weekly on An Echo of Things to Come

"Fans of this genre will find themselves immersed in the magical battles, suspense and backstabbing political intrigue."—RT Book Reviews on An Echo of Things to Come

"Ingeniously plotted...Islington's natural storytelling ability provides incessant plot twists and maintains a relentless pace...A promising page-turner from a poised newcomer."—Kirkus on The Shadow of What Was Lost

"Islington has built a world with all the right genre elements: complex magic, terrifying threats out of legend, political intrigue, and a large cast of characters whose motivations are seldom clear. Fans of doorstop epic fantasy will not be disappointed."—Publishers Weekly on The Shadow of What Was Lost

"Love The Wheel of Time? This is about to become your new favorite series."—B&N SF & Fantasy Blog on The Shadow of What Was Lost

"Storytelling assurance rare for a debut . . . Fans of Robert Jordan and Brandon Sanderson will find much to admire."—Guardian on The Shadow of What Was Lost

"The plot twists are unexpected, the world building is fascinating, and the fledgeling love story is a charmer.... This sweeping and compelling epic is ripe for a sequel."—Booklist on The Shadow of What Was Lost

"The Shadow of What was Lost is an engrossing fantasy debut.... The twisting and complex storylines, fascinating characters and inventive magic make for a fun read packed with plenty of mystery."—Book Reporter on The Shadow of What Was Lost

Product Details
ISBN: 9780316274159
ISBN-10: 0316274151
Publisher: Orbit
Publication Date: December 8th, 2020
Pages: 880
Series: The Licanius Trilogy
Zircon - This is a contributing Drupal Theme
Design by WeebPal.