The Shadow of What Was Lost (The Licanius Trilogy #1) (Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
The Shadow of What Was Lost (The Licanius Trilogy #1) By James Islington Cover Image

The Shadow of What Was Lost (The Licanius Trilogy #1) (Paperback)


On Our Shelves Now
McLean & Eakin
12 on hand, as of May 21 9:08pm

Other Books in Series

This is book number 1 in the The Licanius Trilogy series.

Staff Reviews

The Shadow of What was Lost had been sitting on my shelf at home for around three years. This isn't uncommon when you have enough books sitting around to construct a (to scale) replica of the Empire State Building using books instead of bricks. You know what I'm talking about. Anyway... It just sat there, on my bookshelf, catching my eye every time I looked over, just waiting for me to pick it up. When the Jumanji drum beats became too loud to bear, I picked it up and became totally and completely obsessed. Within just two weeks I had read all three books in the trilogy and had no one to talk to about it. How lucky am I that I can now tell all of you about the best fantasy trilogy I've ever read. (okay, that is a bold statement as most of you know how die hard I am for the Kingkiller Chronicles, but until Rothfuss releases book three, Licanius has the crown)
The story follows Davian, Asha, and Wirr, all gifted students of the school of magic. Disaster strikes early in their education and they are forced apart, each with their own fate to follow. Davian is pushed into a world of magic and old gods, unlike anything he has ever dreamed. Wirr's history comes back to push him into the spotlight, and Asha is destined for greatness whether she is ready for it or not. Is their story already written in the final ink of fate, or will their choices make a difference in the end? Ancient evil lurks in the shadows as our heroes are tested to their limits and beyond. James Islington has created a world that you will get lost in, characters that you will call your friends, and a story that gets better and better every time you turn the page.
Trust me here. If you like The Lord of the Rings, or The Name of the Wind, or fantasy at all, you need these books. Buy them, then email me when you finish it and we can talk about how incredible this series is.
— From Zach

A young man with forbidden magic finds himself drawn into an ancient war against a dangerous enemy in book one of the Licanius Trilogy, the series that fans are heralding as the next Wheel of Time.

As destiny calls, a journey begins.

It has been twenty years since the godlike Augurs were overthrown and killed. Now, those who once served them -- the Gifted -- are spared only because they have accepted the rebellion's Four Tenets, vastly limiting their powers.

As a Gifted, Davian suffers the consequences of a war lost before he was even born. He and others like him are despised. But when Davian discovers he wields the forbidden power of the Augurs, he and his friends Wirr and Asha set into motion a chain of events that will change everything.

To the west, a young man whose fate is intertwined with Davian's wakes up in the forest, covered in blood and with no memory of who he is. . .

And in the far north, an ancient enemy long thought defeated begins to stir.

The Licanius Trilogy is a series readers will have a hard time putting down -- a relentless coming-of-age epic from the very first page.

"Storytelling assurance rare for a debut . . . Fans of Robert Jordan and Brandon Sanderson will find much to admire."" -- Guardian
James Islington was born and raised in southern Victoria, Australia. His influences growing up were the stories of Raymond E. Feist and Robert Jordan, but it wasn't until later, when he read Brandon Sanderson's Mistborn series -- followed soon after by Patrick Rothfuss' Name of the Wind -- that he was finally inspired to sit down and write something of his own. He now lives with his wife and daughter on the Mornington Peninsula in Victoria.

Product Details ISBN: 9780316274074
ISBN-10: 0316274070
Publisher: Orbit
Publication Date: May 9th, 2017
Pages: 736
Language: English
Series: The Licanius Trilogy
"Ingeniously plotted...Islington's natural storytelling ability provides incessant plot twists and maintains a relentless pace...A promising page-turner from a poised newcomer."—Kirkus on The Shadow of What as Lost

"Islington has built a world with all the right genre elements: complex magic, terrifying threats out of legend, political intrigue, and a large cast of characters whose motivations are seldom clear. Fans of doorstop epic fantasy will not be disappointed."—Publishers Weekly on The Shadow of What Was Lost

"Love The Wheel of Time? This is about to become your new favorite series."—B&N SF & Fantasy Blog on The Shadow of What Was Lost

"Storytelling assurance rare for a debut . . . Fans of Robert Jordan and Brandon Sanderson will find much to admire."—Guardian on The Shadow of What Was Lost

The plot twists are unexpected, the world building is fascinating, and the fledgling love story is a charmer.... This sweeping and compelling epic is ripe for a sequel.—Booklist on The Shadow of What Was Lost

"Will appeal to anybody looking for a coming-of-age fantasy tale with likeable characters and strong world building."—Fantasy Faction on The Shadow of What Was Lost

"Action aplenty and an ample spattering of violence...this is a whole new world with a fresh fantasy streak."—SciFiNow on The Shadow of What Was Lost

"A relentless juggernaut of a book . . . Astoundingly intricate worldbuilding."—The Daily Mail on The Shadow of What Was Lost