Hater: A Novel (Hater series #1) (Paperback)

Staff Pick Logo
Hater: A Novel (Hater series #1) Cover Image
$17.99
On Our Shelves Now
1 on hand, as of Sep 23 2:45am
(HORROR)

Staff Reviews


If you read one zombie novel this year(and shouldn't we all?) make it
"Hater". Have you ever seen the movie "28 Days Later?" This is what I
image those 28 days were like. Danny is no stranger to violent
outbursts, he is a parking fine processor after all, but things are
really getting out of hand. Day by day, seemingly reasonable people are
cracking and going on homicidal rampages. Is it a sign of the times, the
result of our violent culture, or is something more complicated at work
here? The perfect pick for this ghoulish time of year. I'm already
nagging the publisher for the sequel... it's coming in the spring!

— Matt

Description


Soon to be a major motion picture—produced by Guillermo del Toro and directed by J.A. Bayona

REMAIN CALM DO NOT PANIC TAKE SHELTER WAIT FOR FURTHER INSTRUCTIONS THE SITUATION IS UNDER CONTROL Society is rocked by a sudden increase in the number of violent assaults on individuals. Christened 'Haters' by the media, the attackers strike without warning, killing all who cross their path. The assaults are brutal, remorseless and extreme: within seconds, normally rational, self-controlled people become frenzied, vicious killers. There are no apparent links as a hundred random attacks become a thousand, then hundreds of thousands. Everyone, irrespective of gender, age, race or any other difference, has the potential to become a victim - or a Hater. People are afraid to go to work, afraid to leave their homes and, increasingly, afraid that at any moment their friends, even their closest family, could turn on them with ultra violent intent. Waking up each morning, no matter how well defended, everyone must now consider the fact that by the end of the day, they might be dead. Or perhaps worse, become a killer themselves. As the status quo shifts, ATTACK FIRST, ASK QUESTIONS LATER becomes the order of the day... only, the answers might be much different than what you expect....

In the tradition of H. G. Wells and Richard Matheson, Hater is one man's story of his place in a world gone mad— a world infected with fear, violence, and HATE.

About the Author


From the UK, DAVID MOODY first self-published Hater on the internet in 2006, and without an agent, succeeded in selling the film rights for the novel to Mark Johnson (producer, The Chronicles of Narnia film series) and Guillermo Del Toro (director, Hellboy, Pan's Labyrinth). With the publication of a new series of Hater stories, Moody is poised to further his reputation as a writer of suspense-laced SF/horror, and "farther out" genre books of all description.

Praise For…


“A head-spinning thrill ride, a cautionary tale about the most salient emotion of the 21st century... HATER will haunt you long after you read the last page...” —GUILLERMO DEL TORO, director, Pan's Labyrinth, Hellboy 1 & 2

“A lucid approach to the state of fear in which we live in and a spine-chilling fable about its utmost consequences... Be careful with HATER, chapter by chapter it will make its way into your soul till it finds the seed of evil that lurks within.” —J.A. BAYONA, director, The Orphanage, Hater

“Powerful and well-written.” —S.M. STIRLING, author of Dies the Fire, The Scourge of God

HATER touches something universal and truly scary--the little voice in all of our heads that tells us the difference between 'us' and 'them'. Subtly drawn, engrossing characters take us inside a landscape of paranoia and fear.” —DAVID WELLINGTON, author of Monster Island, 99 Coffins, Vampire Zero

“David Moody spins paranoia into a deliciously dark new direction. [He] is one scary guy.” —Jonathan Maberry, author of Ghost Road Blues, Patient Zero

“David Moody's HATER is a brutal, eerie, and hugely entertaining novel that grips you with its grim and nihilistic attitude from page one. The attention to detail used to paint an average man's often frustrating life is as disturbing as the bloody violence that follows, giving us one of the year's most readable nerve-shredders.” —TOM PICCIRILLI, Bram Stoker Award-winning author of The Midnight Road, A Choir of Ill Children

Product Details
ISBN: 9780312608088
ISBN-10: 031260808X
Publisher: St. Martin's Griffin
Publication Date: April 13th, 2010
Pages: 288
Language: English
Series: Hater series
 

Signed Editions

 
 
Zircon - This is a contributing Drupal Theme
Design by WeebPal.