The Woman in the Window: A Novel (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
The Woman in the Window: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
On Our Shelves Now
4 on hand, as of Jun 19 2:46am
(FICTION)

Staff Reviews


The Woman in the Window by A.J. Finn

I have found myself drawn to the psychological thrillers lately. Maybe because it puts things in perspective: it could always be worse within the pages of a Hitchcockian psychological thriller.
The woman in the window is herself a psychologist afraid of the world. Practicing her profession via the internet, Anna Fox has little interaction with the outside world apart from what she sees when she peers through her window: The apartment maintenance man who occasionally needs access to her place, other tenants, and the families who stroll through the courtyard on their routes to or fro.
Anna attends to her own therapy over the web, often requesting prescriptions to quelch her anxiety or to aid her in achieving a full night's sleep. She is paranoid. She is secluded from the world. She has created stories behind the people that she sees passing by her window; a sort of television program. She may even establish non-realistic relationships with them.
Did she really just receive a call from the neighbor boy? Did she witness a stranger peering into her neighbor's home?
She could be hallucinating. She could have been drugged. Has someone entered her place? Who other than the maintenance man could have gained access to the safe haven of her apartment?
This story plays on the modern state of psychology. Over-diagnoses, over-medicating, drugs that when combined with other regular chemicals could result in hallucinations. Etc. But, the police have had enough
of her claims. They know she's highly medicated and that she often drinks too much wine, resulting in undesired side effects.
This is flying off the shelves, or rather out the window.

— Alex Byron

Dr. Anna Fox was a children psychiatrist until she developed a severe condition of agoraphobia, the fear of open spaces, leaving her imprisoned in her own home, afraid of leaving and going out into the world. With not a lot to do, she loves spending her days watching noir films, playing games of chess online, and drinking many bottles of wine. To satisfy her want to connect with the outside world, she likes to look at her neighbors through the lens of her camera.


When the Russell family moves in across the street, it reminds Anna of her estranged husband, Ed, and her daughter, Olivia. One night she sees something devastating happen at the Russell’s house, something she shouldn’t have seen, and it leads her to ask the question: “Is it paranoia if it is actually happening?”


A.J. Finn’s debut novel is a thrilling story that gives you something familiar, then throws you a curve ball, with wild twists occurring throughout the book! “The Woman in the Window” is a guarantee to be one of 2018’s best mystery/thriller novels!
 

— From Devin

Description


Instant #1 New York Times Bestseller!

“Astounding. Thrilling. Amazing.” —Gillian Flynn

“Unputdownable.” —Stephen King

“A dark, twisty confection.” —Ruth Ware

“Absolutely gripping.” —Louise Penny

For readers of Gillian Flynn and Tana French comes one of the decade’s most anticipated debuts, to be published in thirty-six languages around the world and already in development as a major film from Fox: a twisty, powerful Hitchcockian thriller about an agoraphobic woman who believes she witnessed a crime in a neighboring house.

It isn’t paranoia if it’s really happening . . .

Anna Fox lives alone—a recluse in her New York City home, unable to venture outside. She spends her day drinking wine (maybe too much), watching old movies, recalling happier times . . . and spying on her neighbors.

Then the Russells move into the house across the way: a father, a mother, their teenage son. The perfect family. But when Anna, gazing out her window one night, sees something she shouldn’t, her world begins to crumble—and its shocking secrets are laid bare.

What is real? What is imagined? Who is in danger? Who is in control? In this diabolically gripping thriller, no one—and nothing—is what it seems.

Twisty and powerful, ingenious and moving, The Woman in the Window is a smart, sophisticated novel of psychological suspense that recalls the best of Hitchcock.

   

Praise For…


“Astounding. Thrilling. Lovely and amazing....Finn has created a noir for the new millennium, packed with mesmerizing characters, stunning twists, beautiful writing and a narrator with whom I’d love to split a bottle of pinot. Maybe two bottles—I’ve got a lot of questions for her.”

The Woman in the Window is one of those rare books that really is unputdownable. The writing is smooth and often remarkable. The way Finn plays off this totally original story against a background of film noir is both delightful and chilling.”

“Twisted to the power of max. Hitchcockian suspense with a 21st century twist.”

The Woman in the Window is a tour de force. A twisting, twisted odyssey inside one woman’s mind, her illusions, delusions, reality. It left my own mind reeling and my heart pounding. An absolutely gripping thriller.”

Compelling, wrenching, and gasp-for-breath exciting―I was blown away.”

A dark, twisty confection with an irresistible film noir premise. Hitchcock would have snapped up the rights in a heartbeat.”

The Woman in the Window is the most riveting thriller I’ve read since Gone Girl. A. J. Finn is a bold new talent with the touch of a master.”

“The rocket fuel propelling The Woman in the Window, the first stratosphere-ready mystery of 2018, is expertise. . . . Dear other books with unreliable narrators: This one will see you and raise you.”

“Finn’s debut lives up to the hype. . . . A riveting and mature first novel that stands out in a crowded genre.”

“Gripping, compelling, and utterly intriguing.”

The Woman in the Window reads like a classic Hitchcock movie in novel form, in fact I was half expecting a cameo. Dripping with suspense. Creaking with menace. Beautifully written. There’s a lot of buzz around this book and every single bit of it is totally justified.”

“This is a wonderfully dark, elegant thriller, evocative of Hitchcock and classic noir. Tense, twisty and so beautifully written. . . . An absolute one-sitting read.”

Crackling with tension, and the sound of pages turning, as twist after twist sweeps away each hypothesis you come up with about what happened in Anna’s past and what fresh hell is unfolding now.”

[A] gripping first novel . . . genuinely surprising twists. . . . [R]eaders will eagerly turn the pages to see how it all turns out.”

“Full of suspense and surprises and told with heart, The Woman in the Window will send readers racing through its pages. A stunning first outing from A. J. Finn, a tremendous new talent.”

As the plot seizes us, the prose caresses us. . . [Finn] has not only captured, sympathetically, the interior life of a depressed person, but also written a riveting thriller that will keep you guessing to the very last sentence.”

“The plot is very nearly airtight. . . . Finn never loses touch with the fear and insecurity of a woman who has suffered a great loss and feels alone in the world. . . . it’s not a book that you can easily put down.”

 “[T]here’s something irresistible about this made-for-the-movies tingler. Finn knows how to pleasurably wind us up.”

“This is thriller writing of a new order that makes Gone Girl look lame.”

“[A] thrilling debut novel.”

“[I]nhalable . . . highly enjoyable.”


Coverage from NPR

Product Details
ISBN: 9780062678416
ISBN-10: 0062678418
Publisher: William Morrow
Publication Date: January 2nd, 2018
Pages: 448
Language: English
 

Signed Editions

 
 
Zircon - This is a contributing Drupal Theme
Design by WeebPal.