The Unlikely Story of a Pig in the City (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
The Unlikely Story of a Pig in the City Cover Image
By Jodi Kendall, Pascal Campion (Illustrator)
$16.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews


Josie Schilling falls immediately in love with the tiny piglet her brother Tom rescues and brings home during Thanksgiving break. She recruits her friends to meet a New Year's Day deadline of convincing her family  that the pig, dubbed Hamlet, should stay permanently at the Schillings’ cramped, city home. It’s not long before Josie realizes that, while Hamlet is loved, the city isn’t where he truly belongs.The large and riotous Schilling family is full of quirks and idiosyncrasies, but it’s the growing understanding between the sisters that steals the show. Kendall’s treatment of the more mature concerns within Josie’s life, like her family’s financial worries, are done with a light and attentive hand. With nods to Charlotte’s Web, Kendall’s sweet story of family, friendship, and growing pains is sure to charm.

— Sara

Description


This delightful middle grade novel is a modern-day homage to Charlotte’s Web, perfect for fans of Katherine Applegate and Cammie McGovern.

“We fell in love with The Unlikely Story of a Pig in the City! No matter how big she gets, there’s always room for Hamlet in our hearts.” —Steve Jenkins and Derek Walter, New York Times bestselling co-authors of Esther the Wonder Pig

A little pig in a big city leads to lots of trouble!

Josie Shilling’s family is too big, their cramped city house is too small, and she feels like no one’s ever on her side. Then, on Thanksgiving Day, her older brother, Tom, brings home a pink, squirmy bundle wrapped in an old football jersey—a piglet he rescued from a nearby farm. Her name is Hamlet.

The minute Josie holds Hamlet, she feels an instant connection. But there’s no room for Hamlet in the crowded Shilling household. And whoever heard of keeping a pig in the city? So it’s up to Josie to find her a forever home.  

The Unlikely Story of a Pig in the City is a heartwarming tale of family, belonging, and growing bigger when you’ve always felt small.

About the Author


Jodi Kendall's debut novel is The Unlikely Story of a Pig in the City, followed by Dog Days in the City. Jodi grew up in the Midwest with her family of seven and their household of countless pets, including hamsters, ducks, dogs, rabbits, an iguana, and yes . . . even a farm pig! As a freelance writer, Jodi once followed a secret nighttime transport of a manta ray over state lines, swam with seven species of sharks, got up close and personal with venomous snakes, and motored through a saltwater crocodile breeding ground. These days, you can find Jodi typing away at home in New York City, where she's still an animal lover at heart. Visit Jodi online at www.jodikendall.com.

Praise For…


“A charming tale, ideal for fans of Jeanne Birdsall’s The Penderwicks, Dana Alison Levy’s The Misadventures of the Family Fletcher, and classics by Eleanor Estes.”
— School Library Journal

“An appealing protagonist figuring out what’s important to her...heartwarming and satisfying.”
— ALA Booklist

“With echoes of Charlotte’s Web, Kendall’s sweet story of family, friendship, and growing pains should charm a broad range of readers.”

— Publishers Weekly

“Josie is an endearing heroine and her story is a compelling one. This will appeal to the animal fans who loved Applegate’s The One and Only Ivan.”
— Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

“Jodi Kendall’s utterly charming, heartfelt story of the unlikely bond between a girl and a pig just goes to show that sometimes it takes a little pig with a big heart to bring a family together again. Move over Wilbur, there’s a new pig in town!”
— Bobbie Pyron, critically-acclaimed author of A Dog’s Way Home

“We fell in love with THE UNLIKELY STORY OF A PIG IN THE CITY! Jodi Kendall has written a charming book with powerful lessons about family and animal welfare. No matter how big she gets, there’s always room for Hamlet in our hearts.”
— Steve Jenkins & Derek Walter, New York Times Bestselling authors of ESTHER THE WONDER PIG
Product Details
ISBN: 9780062484536
ISBN-10: 0062484532
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication Date: October 3rd, 2017
Pages: 336
Language: English
 

Signed Editions

 
 
Zircon - This is a contributing Drupal Theme
Design by WeebPal.