Marlo (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
Marlo Cover Image
List Price: $17.99
Our Price: $2.00
(Save: $15.99 89%)
On Our Shelves Now
1 on hand, as of Sep 29 8:01am
(SALE BOOKS NONRETURNED)

Staff Reviews


This book is a couple of years old, but I loved it the moment it came out of the box. Marlo is a dog, and he’s filthy!  His owner says he needs a bath. Marlo doesn’t really care for baths. But, he has Ducky. Which is a good thing, because you never know what can happen in a bathtub.
Water can be scary; there are all sorts of things in the sea, and a little dog might get in some trouble. But Ducky is always there. Sometimes you have to look pretty hard for him.  Embedded within this book is a hidden object—Ducky. You need to find him in every picture,
because he keeps Marlo safe and helps him get back home. And that’s a wonderful message for anyone.  Everything you need is always right there.

— From Karen B.

Description


A glorious, mostly wordless picture book about a dog who needs a bath—and finds much more than that—by phenomenal debut author/illustrator Christopher Browne, who was inspired by his own rescue dog. Perfect for fans of Aaron Becker's Caldecott Honor Book Journey and Erin and Philip Stead’s books.

This lush picture book launches readers into a world of imagination: a glorious underwater adventure with seas of brilliantly colored fish, shadowy predators, and two friends who long to be reunited. With a clever seek-and-find element on each spread, there are treasures to be pored over again and again.

About the Author


Christopher Browne was born and raised in Massachusetts in a small town filled with apple orchards and sheep. Years later, while he was living in Philly, a ragged young pit bull named Marlo came into his life. Marlo’s sweet, stubborn, and soulful personality soon worked itself not only into Christopher’s imagination but into countless sketches. Christopher currently lives in New York City, working as an art director and illustrator. He is the author-illustrator of Marlo and Marlo and the Dinosaurs. Read more about Marlo at www.christopherbrowne.com.



Christopher Browne was born and raised in Massachusetts in a small town filled with apple orchards and sheep. Years later, while he was living in Philly, a ragged young pit bull named Marlo came into his life. Marlo’s sweet, stubborn, and soulful personality soon worked itself not only into Christopher’s imagination but into countless sketches. Christopher currently lives in New York City, working as an art director and illustrator. He is the author-illustrator of Marlo and Marlo and the Dinosaurs. Read more about Marlo at www.christopherbrowne.com.

Praise For…


“Transforms a simple bath into an underwater epic…with a deft minimalism recalling Charles Schultz or Mo Willems…Dripping with delight.”
Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“Vivid, engrossing...Bring a friend and dive in!”
Booklist

“An unexpected and colorful wordless adventure...offers much to behold on each perusal.”
— School Library Journal


Product Details
ISBN: 9780062441133
ISBN-10: 0062441132
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Publication Date: March 21st, 2017
Pages: 40
Language: English
 
 
 
Zircon - This is a contributing Drupal Theme
Design by WeebPal.