King of Ashes: Book One of The Firemane Saga (Firemane Saga, The #1) (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
King of Ashes: Book One of The Firemane Saga (Firemane Saga, The #1) Cover Image
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Other Books in Series

This is book number 1 in the Firemane Saga, The series.

Staff Reviews

Raymond E. Feist created his first fantasy world 30 years ago with Magician: Apprentice, the first book in the Riftwar Saga.  This is the first new fantasy world he has created since then.  He can still pull you in and keep you there.

This book begins with a huge bloody betrayal.  The five Great Kingdoms of Garn have just become four.  And Baron Dumarch immediately regrets his participation in the defeat and murder of a friend, even though he felt forced by circumstance to do it.  As he watches the murder of a king and his family, he can see a dismal future approaching.  Fate will give him one tiny chance to change that.  But he will have to survive himself for the next 17 years in order to see it through.  Baron Dumarch passes off a newborn baby to a gang of assassins and thieves who promise to raise him as their own and then send him back to the baron when he is grown.

Hatushaly knows that he was not born into the Kingdom of Night, but it is the only home he has.  Over the years he has trained in all the ways that one born into the kingdom would learn—how to steal, how to observe, how to fight, how to kill.  But he doesn’t know why or to what end.

This book has all of Feist’s great characterization and deep plotting.  In this first book, we will follow Hatushaly and his friends to the day he is sent back to the Baron Dumarch.

— From Karen B.


The first volume in legendary master and New York Times bestselling author Raymond E. Feist’s epic heroic fantasy series, The Firemane Saga—an electrifying tale of two young men whose choices will determine a world’s destiny.

For centuries, the five greatest kingdoms of North and South Tembria, twin continents on the world of Garn, have coexisted in peace. But the balance of power is destroyed when four of the kingdoms violate an ancient covenant and betray the fifth: Ithrace, the Kingdom of Flames, ruled by Steveren Langene, known as "the Firemane" for his brilliant red hair. As war engulfs the world, Ithrace is destroyed and the Greater Realms of Tembria are thrust into a dangerous struggle for supremacy.

As a Free Lord, Baron Daylon Dumarch owes allegiance to no king. When an abandoned infant is found hidden in Daylon’s pavilion, he realizes that the child must be the missing heir of the slain Steveren. The boy is valuable—and vulnerable. A cunning and patient man, Daylon decides to keep the baby’s existence secret, and sends him to be raised on the Island of Coaltachin, home of the so-called Kingdom of Night, where the powerful and lethal Nocusara, the "Hidden Warriors," legendary assassins and spies, are trained.

Years later, another orphan of mysterious provenance, a young man named Declan, earns his Masters rank as a weapons smith. Blessed with intelligence and skill, he unlocks the secret to forging King’s Steel, the apex of a weapon maker’s trade known by very few. Yet this precious knowledge is also deadly, and Declan is forced to leave his home to safeguard his life. Landing in Lord Daylon’s provinces, he hopes to start anew.

Soon, the two young men—an unknowing rightful heir to a throne and a brilliantly talented young swordsmith—will discover that their fates, and that of Garn, are entwined. The legendary, long-ago War of Betrayal has never truly ended . . . and they must discover the secret of who truly threatens their world.

About the Author

Raymond E. Feist is the author of more than thirty previous books, including the internationally bestselling “Riftwar Cycle” of novels set in his signature world of Midkemia, as well as a standalone novel, Faerie Tale. The Firemane Saga is his first all-new epic fantasy series. He lives in San Diego, California.

Praise For…

“Feist (Magician’s End, 2013) is back on top of his game in this series. . . .A delightful fantasy novel, full of simple magic, fighting, political intrigue, and religious strife.”
Booklist (starred review)

“Feist succeeds in finding warmth and meaning in the smaller moments . . . [and] shines when he focuses on the human element, which feels more necessary than ever.”
— RT Book Reviews

Praise for A Crown Imperiled: “Feist constantly amazes with his ability to create great casts of characters.”
— SF Site

“Sheer readability.”
San Francisco Chronicle

“Fast action, appealing characters, and a splendid setting will delight readers of fantasy and leave them eager for the next battle.”
Kirkus Reviews

“The riveting conclusion to the Chaoswar Saga and the Riftwar Cycle is satisfying in every way...In Magician’s End, [Feist] has masterfully brought the entire epic in a full circle.”
— Booklist (starred review) on MAGICIAN'S END

“With his storytelling mastery and ear for colorful language and nuance, the author of numerous books set in the dual worlds of Midkemia and Kelewan here launches a series that takes his fantasy universe into a whole new phase. ”
— Library Journal on A CROWN IMPERILED

“Feist has a command of language and a natural talent for keeping the reader turning pages.”
Chicago Sun-Times on A KINGDOM BESIEGED

Product Details
ISBN: 9780061468452
ISBN-10: 0061468452
Publisher: Harper Voyager
Publication Date: May 8th, 2018
Pages: 512
Language: English
Series: Firemane Saga, The
Zircon - This is a contributing Drupal Theme
Design by WeebPal.