Bob

Hi, I'm Bob.

Having worked in three of Northern Michigan’s independent bookstores continuously over the past 13 years, I suppose you could say I just can’t stay away from books. Outside of books, my hobbies are theater (board member of LIttle Traverse Civic Theater as well as founding member or North Star Performing Arts) and writing. I’ve had two short stories published and am hoping to have my first novel out soon(ish).
I mainly read Speculative Fiction, but I do enjoy a good thriller and anything that encompasses the love of stories/books.

Staff Pick Badge
Gwendy's Magic Feather (Gwendy's Button Box Trilogy #2) Cover Image
By Richard Chizmar, Stephen King (Foreword by)
$15.99
ISBN: 9781982139728
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Gallery Books - January 21st, 2020

Gwendy is back and so is Castle Rock. Chizmar co-wrote Gwedy’s first adventure, Gwendy's Button Box, with Stephen King, and this time returns flying solo. King’s absence is not even noticed, as Chizmar writes comfortably within King’s domain. It’s a good and suitable tale for Gwendy and the Box, and a wonderful reunion for fans of King, Chizmar, and Castle Rock.


Staff Pick Badge
And The Ocean Was Our Sky Cover Image
By Patrick Ness, Rovina Cai (Illustrator)
$19.99
ISBN: 9780062860729
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Quill Tree Books - September 4th, 2018

Ness writes in a way that reinvents the language. His stories are powerful and unique, beautiful and terrible. His prose is perfect. In this incredible reimagining of Moby Dick, the world is, quite literally, turned upside down. The hunter becomes the hunted, and truths are discovered to contain lies. Imaginatively told from the point of view of the whales, Ness creates a world that is simultaneously familiar and alien.


Staff Pick Badge
The Girl in Red Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780451492289
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Berkley - June 18th, 2019

Christina Henry has quickly written her way to the top of my favorite author list. Her dark and twisted retellings of classic tales are inventive and wonderfully creative. My only complaint with The Girl In Red is that I am in love with the world she has built (destroyed), although various plagues are ravaging it and Red herself, and I want more. I pray that there is a sequel in the works as I have questions and I want to explore more of Red’s world.


Staff Pick Badge
The Captain and the Glory: An Entertainment Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9780525659082
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Knopf - November 19th, 2019

Clown-scary.  Horror-farce.  Funny-because-it’s true, but sad for the same reason. In Eggers' transposition of the current state of affairs in the U.S. (in his view of course), via the story of the massive ship, "The Glory," and its newly appointed captain, Eggers does little to disguise his intent or his targets, and weaves a tale that highlights his concerns for the course of the country. He does so with absurdist humor and wildly funny story telling.
Read it for the absurd, highly accurate view of our current world (in my personal opinion).
And click here to listen to the audio for John Hodgman’s wonderful wonderful voice and nuance.


 

Signed Editions

 
 
Zircon - This is a contributing Drupal Theme
Design by WeebPal.