Hater (Paperback)

Staff Pick Logo
Hater Cover Image
$17.99
On Our Shelves Now
2 on hand, as of Dec 11 8:46am
(HORROR)

Staff Reviews


If you read one zombie novel this year(and shouldn't we all?) make it
"Hater". Have you ever seen the movie "28 Days Later?" This is what I
image those 28 days were like. Danny is no stranger to violent
outbursts, he is a parking fine processor after all, but things are
really getting out of hand. Day by day, seemingly reasonable people are
cracking and going on homicidal rampages. Is it a sign of the times, the
result of our violent culture, or is something more complicated at work
here? The perfect pick for this ghoulish time of year. I'm already
nagging the publisher for the sequel... it's coming in the spring!

— Matt

Description


Soon to be a major motion picture--produced by Guillermo del Toro and directed by J.A. Bayona

REMAIN CALM DO NOT PANIC TAKE SHELTER WAIT FOR FURTHER INSTRUCTIONS THE SITUATION IS UNDER CONTROL Society is rocked by a sudden increase in the number of violent assaults on individuals. Christened 'Haters' by the media, the attackers strike without warning, killing all who cross their path. The assaults are brutal, remorseless and extreme: within seconds, normally rational, self-controlled people become frenzied, vicious killers. There are no apparent links as a hundred random attacks become a thousand, then hundreds of thousands. Everyone, irrespective of gender, age, race or any other difference, has the potential to become a victim - or a Hater. People are afraid to go to work, afraid to leave their homes and, increasingly, afraid that at any moment their friends, even their closest family, could turn on them with ultra violent intent. Waking up each morning, no matter how well defended, everyone must now consider the fact that by the end of the day, they might be dead. Or perhaps worse, become a killer themselves. As the status quo shifts, ATTACK FIRST, ASK QUESTIONS LATER becomes the order of the day... only, the answers might be much different than what you expect....

In the tradition of H. G. Wells and Richard Matheson, Hater is one man's story of his place in a world gone mad-- a world infected with fear, violence, and HATE.

About the Author


David Moody is the author of Dog Blood, Autumn and Autumn: The City. He grew up in Birmingham, England, on a diet of horror movies and post-apocalyptic fiction. He started his career working at a bank, but then decided to write the kind of fiction he loved. His first novel, Straight to You, had what Moody calls "microscopic sales," and so when he wrote Autumn, he decided to publish it online. The book became a sensation and has been downloaded by half a million readers. He started his own publishing company, Infected Books. He lives in Britain with his wife and a houseful of daughters, which may explain his preoccupation with Armageddon.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780312608088
ISBN-10: 031260808X
Publisher: Thomas Dunne Books
Publication Date: April 13th, 2010
Pages: 281
Language: English
Series: Hater

Buy a Giftcard

Digital audiobooks McLean Eakin Booksellers Petoskey michigan

It's the perfect gift & they

work both in store and online!!

Staff Favorites

Indie Next List

This feature require that you enable JavaScript in your browser.