The Woman in the Window (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
The Woman in the Window Cover Image
$26.99
On Our Shelves Now
16 on hand, as of Jan 18 3:45am
(FICTION)

Staff Reviews


Dr. Anna Fox was a children psychiatrist until she developed a severe condition of agoraphobia, the fear of open spaces, leaving her imprisoned in her own home, afraid of leaving and going out into the world. With not a lot to do, she loves spending her days watching noir films, playing games of chess online, and drinking many bottles of wine. To satisfy her want to connect with the outside world, she likes to look at her neighbors through the lens of her camera.


When the Russell family moves in across the street, it reminds Anna of her estranged husband, Ed, and her daughter, Olivia. One night she sees something devastating happen at the Russell’s house, something she shouldn’t have seen, and it leads her to ask the question: “Is it paranoia if it is actually happening?”


A.J. Finn’s debut novel is a thrilling story that gives you something familiar, then throws you a curve ball, with wild twists occurring throughout the book! “The Woman in the Window” is a guarantee to be one of 2018’s best mystery/thriller novels!
 

— From Devin

January 2018 Indie Next List


“The Woman in the Window is being touted as one of the hottest releases of early 2018, and with excellent reason. A modern take on Hitchcock's Rear Window, with many nods to classic noir film, A.J. Finn's debut novel is told through the eyes of a narrator trapped inside her beautiful house by a severe case of agoraphobia and separated from her estranged husband and young daughter. She copes with her condition by spying on her neighbors and living vicariously through their drama, until the night she witnesses what appears to be a murder and finds herself swept up in its wake. Once this story gets rolling, it will bowl you over. Fans of psychological thrillers should take note of this banger of a tale!”
— Whitney Spotts, Schuler Books & Music, Lansing, MI

Description


Instant #1 New York Times Bestseller

"Astounding. Thrilling. Amazing." --Gillian Flynn

"Unputdownable." --Stephen King

"A dark, twisty confection." --Ruth Ware

"Absolutely gripping." --Louise Penny

For readers of Gillian Flynn and Tana French comes one of the decade's most anticipated debuts, to be published in thirty-six languages around the world and already in development as a major film from Fox: a twisty, powerful Hitchcockian thriller about an agoraphobic woman who believes she witnessed a crime in a neighboring house.

It isn't paranoia if it's really happening . . .

Anna Fox lives alone--a recluse in her New York City home, unable to venture outside. She spends her day drinking wine (maybe too much), watching old movies, recalling happier times . . . and spying on her neighbors.

Then the Russells move into the house across the way: a father, a mother, their teenage son. The perfect family. But when Anna, gazing out her window one night, sees something she shouldn't, her world begins to crumble--and its shocking secrets are laid bare.

What is real? What is imagined? Who is in danger? Who is in control? In this diabolically gripping thriller, no one--and nothing--is what it seems.

Twisty and powerful, ingenious and moving, The Woman in the Window is a smart, sophisticated novel of psychological suspense that recalls the best of Hitchcock.

Product Details
ISBN: 9780062678416
ISBN-10: 0062678418
Publisher: William Morrow & Company
Publication Date: January 2nd, 2018
Pages: 448
Language: English

Buy a Giftcard

Digital audiobooks McLean Eakin Booksellers Petoskey michigan

It's the perfect gift & they

work both in store and online!!

Indie Next List

This feature require that you enable JavaScript in your browser.