Extra Yarn (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
Extra Yarn Cover Image
By Mac Barnett, Jon Klassen (Illustrator)
$17.99
On Our Shelves Now
1 on hand, as of Dec 13 4:30am
(CH AWARD WINNERS)

Staff Reviews


    As a knitter (and a grandma) this book has been dear to me since its release last January. Beautifully illustrated by Jon Klassen, this tells the story of a little girl who lives in a cold little town that is drab, drab,drab. When Annabelle finds a box of what looks like ordinary colored yarn, she takes it home and knits herself a sweater. With the extra yarn she knits one for her dog as well. But there was still extra yarn.....the story continues like this, with Annabelle knitting and knitting and the colorful yarn brightening up the town and making people happy. Every magical story has a villain, and in this case it is the evil Archduke, who decides he must have the yarn for himself. What will happen? This is a lovely story that illustrates the impact one kind deed can have on a community. Perfect for ages 2-5.

— Karen L.

November 2011 Indie Next List


“The town where Annabelle lives is a very boring place; a dull grey city where nobody wears anything colorful at all. One day Annabelle finds a box full of yarn, so she knits herself a sweater. But she finds that she has extra yarn left over. Soon, she is knitting sweaters for everyone and everything (even a pickup truck!) and her town is becoming brighter by the stitch. Somehow, she always has extra yarn!”
— Maryam Yachnes, Hooray for Books!, Alexandria, VA

Description


From bestselling and award-winning author Mac Barnett and illustrator Jon Klassen comes Extra Yarn, a Caldecott Honor Book, Boston Globe-Horn Book Award winner, and a New York Times bestseller.

A young girl and her box of magical yarn transform a community in this stunning picture book. With spare, gently humorous illustrations and a palette that moves from black-and-white to a range of color, this modern fairy tale has the feel of a new classic.

Fans of Oliver Jeffers and Peter Brown will love this book.

Product Details
ISBN: 9780061953385
ISBN-10: 0061953385
Publisher: Balzer & Bray/Harperteen
Publication Date: January 17th, 2012
Pages: 40
Language: English

Buy a Giftcard

Digital audiobooks McLean Eakin Booksellers Petoskey michigan

It's the perfect gift & they

work both in store and online!!

Staff Favorites

Indie Next List

This feature require that you enable JavaScript in your browser.