Little Princes: One Man's Promise to Bring Home the Lost Children of Nepal (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
Little Princes: One Man's Promise to Bring Home the Lost Children of Nepal Cover Image
$25.99
Special Order

Staff Reviews


Conor Grennan is the most self-effacing author you will ever read.
Admittedly, Grennan heads to Nepal in order to feel good about himself,
excuse a decadent trip around the world, and have a great conversation
starter with girls at the bar. He gets more than he bargained for.
If you have ever worked with children, you will be instantly drawn to
the boys and girls of the Little Princes Orphanage in Godawari, Nepal.
However, this is more than another story about "doing good." This is an
adventure story in the spirit of Jon Krakauer's, Into the Wild; an epic
launch into the unknown culture of how another country's government
functions and how to get inside that government to make a real change.
With Grennan as your narrator, you will be taken from skeptical
bystander to trail-trekking adventurer within the first 50 pages. An
exemplary story for every walk of life.

— Jessilynn

May 2012 Indie Next List


“Grennan takes a year off from his job with the EastWest Institute and volunteers for three months in a Nepalese orphanage. He is captivated by his lively and affectionate young charges, but the story grows darker as he learns more about the for-profit traffic in young children stolen from their families and villages. Grennan vows to return to help reunite the children with their families, and the story of his fulfillment of that quest is powerful and moving.”
— Sarah Goddin, Quail Ridge Books, Raleigh, NC

February 2011 Indie Next List


“Grennan takes a year off from his job with the EastWest Institute and volunteers for three months in a Nepalese orphanage. He is captivated by his lively and affectionate young charges, but the story grows darker as he learns more about the for-profit traffic in young children stolen from their families and villages. Grennan vows to return to help reunite the children with their families, and the story of his fulfillment of that quest is powerful and moving.”
— Sarah Goddin, Quail Ridge Books, Raleigh, NC

Description


"Funny, touching, tragic....A remarkable tale of corruption, child trafficking and civil war in a far away land--and one man's extraordinary quest to reunite lost Nepalese children with their parents."
--Neil White, author of In the Sanctuary of Outcasts

Little Princes is the epic story of Conor Grennan's battle to save the lost children of Nepal and how he found himself in the process. Part Three Cups of Tea, part Into Thin Air, Grennan's remarkable memoir is at once gripping and inspirational, and it carries us deep into an exotic world that most readers know little about.

Praise For…


In the tradition of “Three Cups of Tea” and “Mountains Beyond Mountains,” this book provides proof (there cannot be too much) of the value of volunteer work.
-Los Angeles Times

“With a light touch and refreshing candor, Grennan in Little Princes tells the story of how a good-looking University of Virginia grad with wanderlust ended up risking his life to find, then reunite, children with their families in Nepal, one of the poorest countries in the world.”
-USA Today

“The beauty of this book is partly the fact that it is a memoir. But it is also more than that. I defy you to not be inspired or moved by this saga.”
-New York Journal of Books

“The author stumbles into volunteering in an orphanage in Nepal and gets involved in reuniting trafficked children with their families. The energy of these children will make you laugh even though they’ve been through hardship and loss.”
-San Francisco Chronicle Book Review

“While the story is amazing, sincere and touching, it is also a pleasure to see how the author grows, both in personality and style over the five years that the memoir covers.”
-Seattle Post-Intelligencer

“Grennan’s work is by turns self-pokingly humorous, exciting, and inspiring.”
-Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“‘Little Princes’ is a tale of determination, courage and love that will not leave you unchanged.”
-Daytona Beach News

“Funny, touching, tragic. Conor Grennan’s Little Princes is a remarkable tale of corruption, child trafficking and civil war in a far away land — and one man’s extraordinary quest to reunite lost Nepalese children with their parents.”
-Neil White, author of In the Sanctuary of Outcasts

Product Details
ISBN: 9780061930058
Publisher: William Morrow
Publication Date: January 25th, 2011
Pages: 304

Buy a Giftcard

Digital audiobooks McLean Eakin Booksellers Petoskey michigan

It's the perfect gift & they

work both in store and online!!

Indie Next List

This feature require that you enable JavaScript in your browser.